Winsor McCay Award Recipients Announced at Comic Con, San Diego

Sat Jul 26, 2008 8:00am EDT

* Reuters is not responsible for the content in this press release.

Honor reflects career achievement and animation's highest honor

SAN DIEGO, July 26 /PRNewswire/ -- The International Animated Film
Society, ASIFA-Hollywood, announced its 2008 Winsor McCay Award recipients
during a private reception Friday, July 25, at the Gaslight Marriott during
the annual Comic Con Convention in San Diego, California. This year's Winsor
McCay recipients are: Mike Judge, John Lasseter and Nick Park (see bios
below).  Award recipients will claim their trophies at the 36th Annual Annie
Awards scheduled for Friday, January 30, 2009, at UCLA'sRoyce Hall in Los
Angeles, California.
    Named in honor of animator Winsor McCay, best known as a prolific artist
and pioneer in the art of comic strips and animation, the Winsor McCay Award
stands as one of the highest honors given to an individual in the animation
industry in recognition for career contributions to the art of animation.
    "ASIFA-Hollywood is proud to present Mike Judge, John Lasseter and Nick
Park each with a Winsor McCay Award," said Antran Manoogian, president of
ASIFA-Hollywood.  "Their career achievements and outstanding contributions to
the art of animation are certainly worthy of being recognized with this
    The 2008 Winsor McCay Award Recipients are:
Mike Judge is the acclaimed creator of MTV's Beavis and Butt-head and
Fox's King Of The Hill. Judge started his career as an independent animator
creating several short films, including Office Space with Milton and Frog
Baseball, animating them on his kitchen table. Judge provides the voices for
his main characters (Beavis, Butt-head and Hank Hill) and has directed a
feature length version of Beavis and Butt-head, as well as several critically
acclaimed live action films. His third animated series, The Goode Family, will
air next year on ABC.
John Lasseter is a pioneering computer animation director and currently
the Chief Creative Officer at Pixar and Walt Disney Animation. Lasseter, a Cal
Arts graduate, began his career in hand drawn character animation at Disney in
1975. He joined Pixar when it was still an experimental unit of Lucasfilm in
1984. He added a cartoonist's vision to the world of computer graphics,
combining strong storytelling with classic character animation. After winning
an Academy Award for his short, Tin Toy, he led Pixar to commercial and
critical success with such feature films as Toy Story, A Bug's Life, and Cars.
Nick Park is the British clay animator who charmed the world with his
Academy Award winning short, Creature Comforts, and hilarious characters
Wallace and Gromit. He started his first film, A Grand Day Out, while still a
student at the National Film and Television School. He joined Aardman
Animation in 1985 and went on to complete three Wallace and Gromit shorts and
co-directed two feature films, Chicken Run and the Academy Award winning
Wallace & Gromit: Curse of the Were-Rabbit. His fourth Wallace and Gromit
short, A Matter of Loaf and Death, will be released later this year.
    The Annie Awards have long recognized pioneers at the forefront of
animation through nominations, juried awards and certificates of merit.  In
1972, legendary voice actor June Foray organized the very first Annie Awards.
Today, supported by major animation studios and production companies, the
Annie Awards have grown into a much-heralded industry event and are considered
an important industry benchmark and a predictor of the Academy Award for Best
Animated Feature.
    ASIFA-Hollywood is the largest of an international network of chapters and
supports a range of animation initiatives through its membership. Current
projects include an animation archive, library and museum, classes and
screenings, and animated film preservation efforts.
    For general information on the 36th Annual Annie Awards, visit or contact ASIFA-Hollywood at 818.842-8330. Media
inquiries, please contact Gretchen Dixon, Dixon PR, at 562.235.0991 or Email:
    ASIFA is the French acronym for L'Association Internationale du Film D'
Animation, an organization founded in 1957 in France by a group of
professional animators and chartered by UNESCO in 1960 to encourage the art of
animation and further international understanding and goodwill through the
animation medium. Today, there are ASIFA chapters in nearly 30 countries

Gretchen Dixon of Dixon PR, +1-562-235-0991,, for
Comments (0)
This discussion is now closed. We welcome comments on our articles for a limited period after their publication.