COMEDY CENTRAL(R) Wins Three Big Primetime Emmy(R) Awards for Long-Time Favorites...

Mon Sep 21, 2009 1:23pm EDT

* Reuters is not responsible for the content in this press release.

COMEDY CENTRAL(R) Wins Three Big Primetime Emmy(R) Awards for Long-Time
Favorites 'The Daily Show' and 'South Park'
'The Daily Show With Jon Stewart' Cited Again for Program and Writing,
Bringing Emmy Awards Total to Thirteen

NEW YORK, Sept. 21 /PRNewswire/ -- COMEDY CENTRAL earned three awards in the
2008-2009 Primetime Emmy(R) Awards competition, announced at last night's
telecast by the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (ATAS).

Multiple Emmy-winner "The Daily Show with Jon Stewart," the network's unique
news parody series, won this year in two categories: Outstanding Variety,
Music Or Comedy Series and Outstanding Writing For A Variety, Music Or Comedy
Series.  This brings the grand total of Primetime Emmys for the "Daily Show"
to thirteen and, with seven consecutive wins for Program, makes "The Daily
Show's" record of consecutive wins one of the longest in Emmy history.  The
program is also a two-time winner of the prestigious Peabody(R) Award for
Excellence in Broadcasting.

Already a three-time Emmy-winner (with nine nominations) "South Park," the
adult animation phenomenon that is home to Kyle, Stan, Kenny and Cartman,
received its fourth Emmy, winning this year in the category of Outstanding
Animated Program For Programming Less Than One Hour for the "Margaritaville"
episode.  The irreverent show, now in its 13th season, remains COMEDY
CENTRAL's highest rated show.

The Emmy Awards were presented in two ceremonies.  The first, primarily for
creative arts categories, took place on Saturday, September 12, while the
balance of the Emmys, primarily for the performing arts, were announced before
a black-tie audience during a primetime telecast (CBS) on Sunday, September
20.  Both ceremonies took place at the NOKIA Theatre L.A. LIVE in Los Angeles,

The following is a complete list of COMEDY CENTRAL's wins with all credited

The Daily Show with Jon Stewart
Jon Stewart, Executive Producer/Host; David Javerbaum, Rory Albanese, Josh
Lieb, Executive Producers; Kahane Corn, Co-Executive Producer; Jennifer Flanz,
Jim Margolis, Steve Bodow, Adam Lowitt, Supervising Producers; Jill Katz,

The Daily Show with Jon Stewart
Steve Bodow, Head Writer; Jon Stewart, David Javerbaum, Josh Lieb, Rory
Albanese, Kevin Bleyer, Jason Ross, Tim Carvell, John Oliver, Sam Means, Rob
Kutner, J.R. Havlan, Rich Blomquist, Wyatt Cenac, Elliott Kalan, Rachel Axler,

OUTSTANDING ANIMATED PROGRAM (For Programming One Hour or Less)
South Park, "Margaritaville"
Trey Parker, Executive Producer/Writer/Director; Matt Stone, Anne Garefino,
Executive Producers; Frank C. Agnone II, Supervising Producer; Eric Stough,
Adrien Beard, Bruce Howell, Erica Rivinoja, Vernon Chatman, Bill Hader,
Producers; Ryan Quincy, Director of Animation

COMEDY CENTRAL, the only all-comedy network, currently is seen in more than 95
million homes nationwide.  COMEDY CENTRAL is owned by, and is a registered
trademark of, Comedy Partners, a wholly-owned division of VIACOM Inc.'s (NYSE:
VIA and VIA.B) MTV Networks.  COMEDY CENTRAL's Internet address is  For up-to-the-minute and archival press information
and photographs visit Press Central, COMEDY CENTRAL's press Web site at

SOURCE  COMEDY CENTRAL Corporate Communications

Mary Ann Minster, +1-212-767-8874, or Tony
Fox, +1-212-767-8746,
Comments (0)
This discussion is now closed. We welcome comments on our articles for a limited period after their publication.