Bryant College Football Coach of the Year Watch List Released

Mon Oct 26, 2009 4:30pm EDT

* Reuters is not responsible for the content in this press release.

HOUSTON, Oct. 26 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The Paul "Bear" Bryant Awards
committee of the American Heart Association selected its Bryant Watch List for
the 2009 College Football Coach of the Year. The selection committee consists
of current and past event chairmen, Bryant family representatives, National
Sportscasters & Sportswriters Association representatives, college football
sports analysts and former collegiate players and coaches.

The Bryant College Football Coach of the Year finalists will be announced in
December and attend an awards dinner in Houston on Jan. 14, 2010. The winner
will be announced live that evening. The winner of the Bryant College Football
Coach of the Year is voted on by members of the National Sportscasters and
Sportswriters Association and is the only college football coaching award
voted on after all bowl games are played.

January's event will also recognize the University of Georgia's legendary
coach and athletic director, Vince Dooley as the Bryant Lifetime Achievement
Recipient. This award recognizes excellence in coaching on and off the field
during a career, allowing recipients to take their place in history alongside
legends such as Bryant.

Bryant College Coach of the Year Watch List in alphabetical order by coach:
    --  Robb Akey - University of Idaho
    --  Mack Brown - University of Texas
    --  Pete Carroll - University of Southern California
    --  Kirk Ferentz - University of Iowa
    --  Al Golden - Temple University
    --  Mike Gundy - Oklahoma State University
    --  Paul Johnson - Georgia Institute of Technology
    --  Brian Kelly - University of Cincinnati
    --  Chip Kelly - University of Oregon
    --  Bronco Mendenhall - Brigham Young University
    --  Urban Meyer - University of Florida
    --  Les Miles - Louisiana State University
    --  Joe Paterno - Penn State University
    --  Gary Patterson - Texas Christian University
    --  Chris Petersen - Boise State University
    --  Nick Saban - University of Alabama
    --  Randy Shannon - University of Miami
    --  Bill Stewart - West Virginia University
    --  Kevin Sumlin - University of Houston

    --  Dave Wannstedt - University of Pittsburgh

The Bryant Awards honor excellence in coaching while raising funds to fight
heart disease and stroke, the nation's No. 1 and No. 3 killers. Bryant himself
suffered a heart attack prior to his death in 1983. Funds raised benefit
research, community education and outreach programs of the AHA. For more
information, or to purchase tickets or a table for the event, contact Kristin
Rodriguez at 713-610-5026 or visit

Contact: Tiffany Travis, American Heart Association
(713) 610-5041

SOURCE  American Heart Association Houston Division

Tiffany Travis of the American Heart Association, +1-713-610-5041,
Comments (0)
This discussion is now closed. We welcome comments on our articles for a limited period after their publication.