Press release Crédit Agricole S.A.

Wed May 18, 2011 8:08am EDT

* Reuters is not responsible for the content in this press release.


Strasbourg, 18 May 2011




Press release








The Annual General Meeting of Crédit Agricole S.A. shareholders took place on Wednesday, 18 May 2011 at the Palais des Congrès in Strasbourg, in the presence of Jean-Marie Sander, Chairman, and Jean-Paul Chifflet, Chief Executive Officer.


More than one thousand shareholders attended the meeting. With a quorum of 72,92 %, the Meeting was duly convened and the shareholders approved all resolutions proposed by the Board of Directors.


The net dividend for 2010 was fixed at 0.45 euro per share. Two options for dividend payment will be offered: full payment in cash; or full payment in shares, with an issue price of 9.49 euros per share. After the Annual General Meeting had voted in favour of this option, Crédit Agricole S.A.'s majority shareholder, SAS Rue La Boétie, confirmed that it would take the dividend payment in new shares, as it indicated in February 2011, when the year-end financial statements were presented.


On the recommendation of the Board of Directors, the General Meeting approved the resolution regarding the creation of a preferential dividend (with a maximum legal premium of 10%) for those shareholders who can substantiate having been registered for at least two years prior to 31 December 2013 and who continue to be registered up to the date on which the dividend relating to the said financial year is actually paid out. The preferential dividend will be paid for the first time in 2014 in respect of the financial year ended 31 December 2013.


At the General Meeting, the shareholders voted to appoint two new directors each for a three year term of office: Caroline Catoire to replace Michael Jay, and Christian Streiff to replace Alain Diéval.


In addition, the General Meeting re-appointed the following directors for three year term of office: Laurence Dors Meary; Xavier Fontanet; Claude Henry, Chairman, Caisse Régionale de Crédit Agricole Centre Est; Bernard Lepot, CEO, Caisse Régionale de Crédit Agricole Nord Midi-Pyrénées; Michel Michaut, Chairman, Caisse Régionale de Crédit Agricole Champagne Bourgogne; François Veverka.



This announcement is distributed by Thomson Reuters on behalf of Thomson Reuters clients.

The owner of this announcement warrants that:
(i) the releases contained herein are protected by copyright and other applicable laws; and
(ii) they are solely responsible for the content, accuracy and originality of the
information contained therein.

Source: CREDIT AGRICOLE SA via Thomson Reuters ONE