REG - BHP Billiton PLC - Sale of Yeelirrie Uranium Deposit

Tue Aug 28, 2012 2:00am EDT

* Reuters is not responsible for the content in this press release.

RNS Number : 8041K
BHP Billiton PLC
26 August 2012
 




NEWS RELEASE

Release Time

IMMEDIATE

Date

27 August 2012

Number

21/12

 

sale of yeelirrie uranium deposit

                                                                    

BHP Billiton has signed an agreement to sell its wholly owned Yeelirrie uranium deposit in Western Australia to Cameco Corporation for US$430 million.

BHP Billiton Uranium President, Dean Dalla Valle, said:

"Cameco is one of the world's largest publicly listed uranium producers and is highly respected in the industry. We believe they are well placed to carry this project forward in a responsible manner."

The sale is subject to relevant approvals from the Australian Foreign Investment Review Board and the Government of Western Australia.

About Yeelirrie

Yeelirrie is located 630 kilometres north-east of Perth in the Northern Goldfields region of Western Australia. Uranium was discovered at the Yeelirrie site in 1972 by Western Mining Corporation, which was acquired by BHP Billiton in 2005.

Further information on BHP Billiton can be found at: www.bhpbilliton.com.

 

Media Relations

 

Australia                                             

 

Antonios Papaspiropoulos

Tel: +61 3 9609 3830  Mobile: +61 477 325 803 

email: Antonios.Papaspiropoulos@bhpbilliton.com

 

Kelly Quirke

Tel: +61 3 9609 2896  Mobile: +61 429 966 312 

email: Kelly.Quirke@bhpbilliton.com 

 

Fiona Martin

Tel: +61 3 9609 2211  Mobile: +61 427 777 908 

email: Fiona.Martin2@bhpbilliton.com 

United Kingdom

 

Ruban Yogarajah

Tel: +44 20 7802 4033  Mobile:  +44 7827 082 022

email: Ruban.Yogarajah@bhpbilliton.com             

Deirdra McCracken
Tel: +44 20 7802 7462  Mobile: +44 7827 253 764
Email: Deirdra.S.McCracken@bhpbilliton.com

Americas

Jaryl Strong
Tel:  +1 713 499 5548  Mobile: +1 281 222 6627
email: Jaryl.Strong@bhpbilliton.com

Investor Relations

 

Australia                                             

 

James Agar

Tel: +61 3 9609 2222  Mobile: +61 467 807 064

email:  James.Agar@bhpbilliton.com

 

Andrew Gunn

Tel: +61 3 9609 3575  Mobile: +61 439 558 454

email: Andrew.Gunn@bhpbilliton.com

 

United Kingdom and South Africa

 

Tara Dines

Tel : +44 20 7802 7113  Mobile : +44 7825 342 232

Email : Tara.Dines@bhpbilliton.com

 

Americas

Brendan Harris

Tel: +44 20 7802 4131  Mobile: +44 7990 527 726

email: Brendan.Harris@bhpbilliton.com

 

Matt Chism

Tel: +1 71 359 96158  Mobile: +1 281 782  2238

email: Matt.E.Chism@bhpbilliton.com

 

 

BHP Billiton Limited ABN 49 004 028 077

Registered in Australia

Registered Office: 180 Lonsdale Street

Melbourne Victoria 3000 Australia

Tel +61 1300 55 4757 Fax +61 3 9609 3015

 

BHP Billiton Plc Registration number 3196209

Registered in England and Wales

Registered Office: Neathouse Place

London SW1V 1BH United Kingdom

Tel +44 20 7802 4000 Fax +44 20 7802 4111

Members of the BHP Billiton Group which is headquartered in Australia

 


This information is provided by RNS
The company news service from the London Stock Exchange
 
END
 
 
DISEAAPKASAAEAF
Comments (0)
This discussion is now closed. We welcome comments on our articles for a limited period after their publication.