Disney's 'Wreck-It Ralph' Wins Best Animated Feature At 40th Annual Annie Awards

Sun Feb 3, 2013 1:00am EST

* Reuters is not responsible for the content in this press release.

For best results when printing this announcement, please click on the link


Animation's Most Celebrated Evening!
LOS ANGELES,  Feb. 3, 2013  /PRNewswire/ -- Disney's 'Wreck-It Ralph' won the
Best Animated Feature honor at the 40th  Annual Annie Awards held  Saturday,
February 2  at  UCLA's  Royce Hall. This year's expanded list of categories
topped 30, honoring many more nominees and team entries as in years past. New to
the awards this year was the addition of the Best Student Film. A live streaming
of the ceremony was made available again to animation enthusiasts as well as
those who were unable to attend the event at  www.annieawards.org/watch-it-live.
A complete list of winners can be viewed at  www.annieawards.org.  

The Best Animated Special Production was awarded to "Despicable Me: Minion
Mayhem" (Illumination Entertainment); Best Animated Short Subject to "Paperman"
(Walt Disney Animation Studios); Best General Audience Animated TV Production
for Preschool Children "Bubble Guppies 'A Tooth on the Looth'" (Nickelodeon
Animation Studios); Best Animated Television Production for Children "Dragons:
Riders of Berk 'How to Pick Your Dragon'" (DreamWorks Animation); Best General
Audience Animated Television Production "Robot Chicken 'DC Comics Special'"
(Stoopid Buddy Studios); Best Animated Video Game "Journey" (Sony Computer
Entertainment America); and Best Student Film "Head Over Heels" (Timothy

"What a great evening filled with a lot of fun and surprises," said
ASIFA-Hollywood President  Frank Gladstone. "A variety of individuals and
studios participated and joined in celebrating the best in animation across
project, studio and geographic boundaries."

Former Annie Awards host and movie reviewer Leonard Maltin and voice actors  Rob
Paulsen  and  Maurice Lamarche  shared hosting duties, along with a special
appearance by long time Annies presenter-favorite, actor and animation industry
professional,  Seth Green.

Honored with the Winsor McCay award were  Terry Gilliam,  Oscar Grillo  and 
Mark Henn. The Winsor McCay stands as one of the highest honors given to an
individual in the animation industry in recognition for career contributions to
the art of animation.

Howard Green  was honored with the June Foray award which is presented to an
individual who has given significant and benevolent contributions to the art and
industry of animation, and Toon Boom Animation was honor with the Ub Iwerks
award created and given to individuals or companies for technical advancements
that make a significant impact on the art or industry of animation.

Often a predictor of the annual Academy Award for Best Animated Feature, the
Annie Awards honor overall excellence as well as individual achievement in a
total of 30 categories ranging from best feature, production design, character
animation, and effects animation to storyboarding, writing, music, editing and
voice acting.  Entries submitted for consideration were from productions that
originally aired, were exhibited in an animation festival or commercially
released between  January 1, 2012  and  December 31, 2012.

ASIFA-Hollywood is the world's first and foremost professional organization
dedicated to promoting the Art of Animation and celebrating the people who
create it.  

Today, ASIFA-Hollywood, the largest chapter of the international organization
ASIFA, supports a range of animation activities and preservation efforts through
its membership. Current initiatives include the Animation Archive, animation
film preservation, special events, classes and screenings.

Created in 1972 by veteran voice talent June Foray, the Annie Awards have grown
in scope and stature for the past four decades.  For information on
ASIFA-Hollywood, please visit  www.asifa-hollywood.org.  For information on the
Annie Awards, please visit  www.annieawards.org.  


Gretchen Houser, Houser PR, +1-562-235-0991, Gretchen@houserpr.com

Comments (0)
This discussion is now closed. We welcome comments on our articles for a limited period after their publication.