Connecticut Technology Council Announces 53 Finalists for Ninth Annual Women of Innovation Awards Program

Tue Feb 5, 2013 11:36am EST

* Reuters is not responsible for the content in this press release.

Women Leaders in Technology, Science and Engineering to be Honored March 19th 

Dr.Pamela Trotman Reid, Ph.D., President of University of Saint Joseph Will Give Keynote

HARTFORD, Conn., Feb. 5, 2013 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- The Connecticut Technology Council
 (CTC) today announced 53 finalists for the ninth annual Women of Innovation
 Awards Program. The program recognizes women across Connecticut - those in the workforce and
students - who are innovators, role models and leaders in the fields of science, engineering and

A winner in each of the nine awards categories will be announced during the Women of Innovation
Awards Dinner
 at the Aqua Turf Club in Southington on March 19.. The complete list
 of 2013 Women of Innovation
 awards finalists is posted on the CTC website,
. Ticket purchases and registration for the 2013 event
 may be handled online through the CTC website.

Finalists were nominated by their peers and selected based on their professional experience,
history of innovation, ability to think creatively and solve problems, and demonstration of
leadership. Students were judged on inventiveness, accomplishment in science and technology, and
academic achievement.

"These women are extraordinary and outstanding contributors to their professions, to their
employers, and in many cases to their communities," said Beth Alquist, planning committee chair
for the Women of Innovation
 Awards Program.

This year's list of 53 finalists includes researchers, educators, engineers, managers, and
entrepreneurs who work in biotech, pharmaceuticals, software, computer hardware, advanced
materials, medical devices, and Information technology.

High school, undergraduate and graduate students who have demonstrated extraordinary and unique
achievements in their technology studies disciplines are also among the finalists. The winner in
the Youth Innovation and Leadership category will receive a scholarship from Covidien, one of the
event's presenting sponsors.

The keynote speaker for the awards ceremony is Dr. Pamela Trotman Reid, Ph.D., president of
University of Saint Joseph. President of the university since 2008, Trotman Reid initiated and
successfully launched its first professional doctoral program by creating a School of Pharmacy in
downtown Hartford, a move that has garnered widespread acclaim from the Greater Hartford
community. She is nationally-known as a scholar in the area of gender and racial issues and also
as an active participant in scholarly organizations, and she has numerous published book chapters
and articles in psychological journals. Dr. Reid currently serves on the boards of the
MetroHartford Alliance, the iQuilt Project for Downtown Hartford, and the Wadsworth Atheneum
Museum of Art. She is on the executive committees of the Connecticut Conference of Independent
Colleges and the Hartford Consortium for Higher Education; the board of the National Association
of Independent Colleges and Universities; and the Division III Presidents Council of the NCAA. In
July 2012, she was appointed to the Capital Region Development Authority by Governor Dannel

The Women of Innovation
 Program is sponsored by the Boehringer Ingelheim USA Corporation, medical device manufacturer,
Covidien, the law firm of Day Pitney LLP and United Technologies Corporation. Contact Mike Scricca
at (860) 289-0878, ext. 334 or
 with questions regarding the program, sponsorship or the awards dinner.

CONTACT: Michael Scricca, Connecticut Technology Council
         (860) 289-0878 x334,

Comments (0)
This discussion is now closed. We welcome comments on our articles for a limited period after their publication.