UPS Honors Ohio Drivers for 25 Years of Safe Driving

Wed Feb 20, 2013 10:00am EST

* Reuters is not responsible for the content in this press release.

COLUMBUS, Ohio--(Business Wire)--
UPS (NYSE:UPS) today announced 43 elite drivers from Ohio are among 1,283 newly
inducted worldwide into the Circle of Honor, an honorary organization for UPS
drivers who have achieved 25 or more years of accident-free driving. 

Ohio boasts 280 active Circle of Honor drivers with a combined 7,855 years of
accident-free driving. Terry Leedy of Wadsworth is the state`s senior safe
driver, with 42 years of accident-free driving under his belt, tying him for
fourth best driving record among UPS`s 102,000 drivers. There are 3,723 total
UPS drivers in Ohio. 

Globally, 6,486 active UPS drivers are members of the Circle of Honor.
Collectively they`ve racked up 178,663 years and more than 5.3 billion safe
miles during their careers, or the equivalent of circling the earth more than
212,000 times. 

"My thanks go to all of them for their dedication and focus, and for the
countless lives they`ve saved," said Stanley Deans, president, UPS Central

Globally, the most seasoned UPS Circle of Honor driver is Thomas Camp of
Livonia, Mich., with 50 years of driving without an accident. Thomas Santocke of
Dearborn, Mich., and Ronald McKnight of Bronx, N.Y., are next in line with 44
years each of safe driving. Thirty-seven others have logged at least 40 years
without an accident. 

UPS`s 102,000 drivers are among the safest on the roads, logging nearly 3
billion miles a year and averaging less than one accident for every million
miles driven. 

UPS invested $175 million in 2012 on safety training and employs its own
comprehensive driving course called "Space and Visibility." All UPS drivers are
taught safe driving methods beginning on the first day of classroom training
through the company`s defensive driving platform. The training continues
throughout their careers. 

Founded in 1907, UPS has a rich history of safety and training. The company
issued its first driver handbook in 1917 and began recognizing safe drivers in
1923. In 1928, UPS recognized its first five-year safe driver, Ray McCue, with
UPS founder Jim Casey presenting him a gold and platinum watch. 

More information on UPS`s commitment to safety is available at 

UPS (NYSE:UPS) is a global leader in logistics, offering a broad range of
solutions including the transportation of packages and freight; the facilitation
of international trade, and the deployment of advanced technology to more
efficiently manage the world of business. Headquartered in Atlanta, UPS serves
more than 220 countries and territories worldwide. The company can be found on
the Web at and its corporate blog can be found at To get
UPS news direct, visit 

** NOTE: The following pages list local drivers by hometown and UPS center.If
you`re interested in interviewing or riding along with a local driver, please
contact Dan McMackin at

Following is a list of Ohio drivers inducted this year to the Circle of Honor.

 Driver                   Hometown            UPS Work Location   
 Larry Bell               Canton              Canton              
 Thomas Bentz             Gahanna             Obetz               
 Dale Bernardi            Hubbard             Trumbull            
 Robert Bodlak            Chagrin Falls       Highland Hts        
 James Brammer            Salem               Mahoning Valley     
 Dennis Colburn           Brookpark           Middleburg Heights  
 James Corbitt            West Carrollton     West Carrollton     
 Thomas Dorn              Columbus            Columbus            
 Michael Fehr             W. Chester          Sharonville         
 William Fields Jr        Miamisburg          West Carrollton     
 Mark Gillogly            Massillon           Canton              
 Duane Gott               Wellington          Middleburg Heights  
 Mark Green               Hilliard            Columbus            
 Robert Harner            Xenia               Dayton              
 Charles Hasenstab        Brunswick           Middleburg Heights  
 Maurice Henry            Wilmington          Wilmington          
 James Huck Jr            Beverly             Marietta            
 Mason Hunter             Miamisburg          West Carrollton     
 Anthony Lekan            Independence        Cleveland           
 Paul Minks Jr            Canal Fulton        Wadsworth           
 Michael Nagy             Parma               Cleveland           
 Kenneth Nahrstedt        Brunswick           Middleburg Heights  
 Christopher Oswalt       Pataskala           Columbus            
 Kenneth Pelasky Sr       Ashland             Wooster             
 John Popadak             Berea               Middleburg Heights  
 Kyle Preyss              Kirtland            Highland Hts        
 Antonio Ramirez          Perrysburg          Toledo              
 Jo Ann Reiss             Berea               Middleburg Heights  
 Deborah Rinella          Akron               Akron               
 Mel Riviello             Huber Heights       Springfield Center  
 David Roa                Cincinnati          Cincinnati          
 Jon Sass                 Toledo              Toledo              
 Greg Schneider           Liberty Township    Sharonville         
 Nicholas Schwieterman    St Henry            Celina              
 Jerry Seibert            Wheelersburg        Portsmouth          
 Robert Sima              Olmsted Twp         Middleburg Heights  
 William Smith            Grove City          Obetz               
 Kevin Smith              Holland             Toledo              
 James Steinbeck          Worthington         Columbus            
 Ronald Stumpff           Piqua               Piqua               
 Dale Tussey              W Carrollton        West Carrollton     
 John Walsh Jr            Findlay             Findlay             
 Kenneth Wise             Doylestown          Wadsworth           

Dan McMackin, 404-828-7123

Copyright Business Wire 2013

Comments (0)
This discussion is now closed. We welcome comments on our articles for a limited period after their publication.