M3AAWG Announces 2013 Leadership for Fighting Malware and Mobile Abuse

Wed Mar 20, 2013 11:30am EDT

* Reuters is not responsible for the content in this press release.

  SAN FRANCISCO, CA, Mar 20 (Marketwire) -- 
Emphasizing the need for more cooperative cybersecurity efforts across
platforms, the Messaging, Malware and Mobile Anti-Abuse Working Group
will continue with a diverse leadership structure for 2013. Alex Bobotek
of AT&T and Chris Roosenraad of Time Warner Cable will continue as M3AAWG
Co-Chairmen with Michael O'Reirdan of Comcast continuing as a Board
member and M3AAWG Chairman Emeritus.

    Michael Adkins will remain as vice chairman with M3AAWG Executive
Director Jerry Upton serving as the Board secretary. Anthony Purcell was
also re-elected treasurer during the February 21 Board elections held at
the M3AAWG 27th General Meeting in San Francisco. 

    Last year M3AAWG expanded from its original mission of fighting spam to a
broader charter that includes the urgent problems of confronting malware
and fighting abuse on mobile platforms. It works to protect end-users by
sharing information across platforms, developing best practices and
educating policy makers on relevant operational issues. 

    "Whether on a smartphone or a computer, malware can ravage users and
cause extensive damage across networks. The best way to safeguard
end-users today is to cut through the operational silos that have
developed in the industry and leverage our cybersecurity knowledge across
platforms and among diverse areas of expertise," Roosenraad said. 

    Both Bobotek and Roosenraad served as M3AAWG co-chairmen in 2012 and as
co-vice chairmen for the two previous years, providing continuity as the
organization evolves with the changing industry. Bobotek, AT&T Lead of
Messaging Anti-Abuse Architecture and Strategy, will also continue as a
co-chair of the Technical Committee where he has helped develop programs
to fight mobile abuse for several years. Roosenraad, Time Warner Cable
Director of Systems Engineering, previously was a co-chair of the
Technical Committee and of the Program Committee.

    M3AAWG Senior Technical Advisors Richard Clayton, Ph.D.; Dave Crocker;
David Dagon, Ph.D.; John Levine, Ph.D.; April Lorenzen; and Joe St
Sauver, Ph.D. were reappointed. The advisors are experts with in depth
knowledge in specific areas and assist the committees in their work. The
committees are responsible for developing best practices and other work
to fight online abuse. 

    The committee chairs appointed by the Board for 2013 are:

--  Academic Committee, which was recently formed to bring the latest
    research to M3AAWG members, Co-Chairs Manos Antonakakis, Ph.D., of
    Damballa and Joe St Sauver
--  Awards Committee co-chaired by Purcell and Neil Schwartzman, CAUCE
--  Brand SIG Co-Chairs Mike Hammer, AG Interactive; and Franck Martin,
--  Collaboration Committee Co-Chairs Christine Borgia, Return Path;
    Angela Knox, Cloudmark; and Sara Roper, CenturyLink
--  M3AAWG meeting Open Round Tables session chair Jordan Rosenwald,
--  Program Committee Co-Chairs Dennis Dayman, Eloqua; Len Shneyder,
    Message Bus; and Jamie Tomasello, CloudFlare
--  Public Policy Committee Co-Chairs Frank Ackermann, eco-Association of
    the German Internet Industry; Chris Boyer, AT&T; and Rudy Brioche,
--  Senders SIG Co-Chairs Andrew Barrett of iContact and Tara Natanson of
    Constant Contact
--  Technical Committee Co-Chairs Alex Bobotek; Chris Barton, Cloudmark;
    Paul Ferguson, Internet Identity; and Matthew Steele, Symantec
--  Training Committee Co-Chairs Kurt Andersen, LinkedIn; and Sam
    Masiello, CAUCE


The committees also develop educational and information-sharing
sessions on emerging issues for M3AAWG meetings held three times a year.
The organization's annual European meeting will be held in Vienna,
Austria, June 3-6, and will feature training courses and three
multi-track days of speakers, confidential industry dialogue, public
policy reports and working committee sessions. 

    About the Messaging, Malware and Mobile Anti-Abuse Working Group (M3AAWG)

    The Messaging, Malware and Mobile Anti-Abuse Working Group (M3AAWG) is
where the industry comes together to work against bots, malware, spam,
viruses, denial-of-service attacks and other online exploitation. M3AAWG
(www.M3AAWG.org) represents more than one billion mailboxes from some of
the largest network operators worldwide. It leverages the depth and
experience of its global membership to tackle abuse on existing networks
and new emerging services through technology, collaboration and public
policy. It also works to educate global policy makers on the technical
and operational issues related to online abuse and messaging.
Headquartered in San Francisco, Calif., M3AAWG is driven by market needs
and supported by major network operators and messaging providers.

    M3AAWG Board of Directors: AT&T (NYSE: T); Cloudmark, Inc.; Comcast
(NASDAQ: CMCSA); Constant Contact (NASDAQ: CTCT); Cox Communications;
Damballa; Eloqua; Facebook; France Telecom (NYSE and Euronext: FTE);
Google; PayPal; Return Path; Symantec; Time Warner Cable; Verizon
Communications; and Yahoo! Inc.

    M3AAWG Full Members: 1&1 Internet AG; Adaptive Mobile Security LTD; Adobe
Systems Inc.; AOL; BAE Systems Detica; Cisco Systems, Inc.; CloudFare;
Dynamic Network Services Inc.; Email Sender and Provider Coalition;
Experian CheetahMail; Genius; iContact; Internet Initiative Japan (IIJ
NASDAQ: IIJI); Mailchimp; McAfee Inc.; Message Bus; Mimecast; Nominum,
Inc.; Proofpoint; Scality; Spamhaus; Sprint; and Twitter.

    A complete member list is available at


Media Contact: 
Linda Marcus, APR 
1+714-974-6356 (U.S. Pacific) 
Astra Communications 

Copyright 2013, Marketwire, All rights reserved.

Comments (0)
This discussion is now closed. We welcome comments on our articles for a limited period after their publication.