Purdue Research Foundation to Recognize University Researchers Who Received Patents

Wed Apr 3, 2013 4:17pm EDT

* Reuters is not responsible for the content in this press release.


WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind.--(Business Wire)--
Purdue University researchers whose discoveries were patented during the
2011-2012 fiscal year will be recognized April 3 at the Purdue Research
Foundation's eighth annual Inventors Recognition Reception. 

From July 1, 2011, to June 30, 2012, Purdue Research Foundation officials
reported 356 invention disclosures, 446 patent applications worldwide, 95 issued
patents worldwide and the creation of five startups from Purdue-licensed

"Purdue faculty, staff and students strive to make people's lives healthier,
happier or more productive when they develop new products and processes," said
Elizabeth Hart-Wells, assistant vice president and director of the Purdue Office
of Technology Commercialization. "The issuance of patents to protect
intellectual property increases the potential this work will be translated into
products and services for the public. The number of patents issued to
Purdue-related discoveries has more than tripled from 31 in 2007-2008, which is
a credit to the innovative faculty, staff, post-doctorate students and graduate
students throughout the university's campuses." 

Researchers to be recognized, by college, are: 

College of Agriculture: Bruce M. Applegate, Mark T. Morgan 

College of Arts and Sciences, Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne:
William G. Frederick, Lawrence A. Kuznar 

College of Engineering: Saurabh Bagchi, Osman Basaran, Charles A. Bouman,
William J. Chappell, Raymond J. Cipra, Jason V. Clark, James A. Cooper, David S.
Ebert, Timothy S. Fisher, James L. Garrison, Stephen D. Heister, Klein E.
Ileleji, Monika Ivantysynova, Jere Jenkins, Alexander V. Kildishev, James V.
Krogmeier, Gary Krutz, David J. Love, Steven D. Pekarek, Jenna L. Rickus,
Vladimir M. Shalaev, Yung C. Shin, Thomas Siegmund, John M. Starkey, Bernard Y.
Tao, Sherry L. Voytik-Harbin, Andrew M. Weiner, W. Jason Weiss 

College of Engineering, Technology and Computer Science, Indiana
University-Purdue University Fort Wayne: Robert L. Sedlmeyer 

College of Pharmacy: Stephen R. Byrn, Mark S. Cushman, V. Jo Davisson, Daniel T.

College of Science: R. Graham Cooks, Ephraim Fischbach, Philip S. Low, David D.
Nolte, David A. Sanders, Garth J. Simpson 

College of Veterinary Medicine: Richard B. Borgens, Suresh K. Mittal, Riyi Shi 

Bindley Bioscience Center: Janice L. McKenzie 

Mikhail Atallah, College of Science, will receive the 2012-2013 Outstanding
Commercialization Award for Purdue University Faculty at the reception. He
co-founded Arxan Technologies Inc. in 2001.

Purdue Research Foundation
Steve Martin, 765-588-3342

Copyright Business Wire 2013

Comments (0)
This discussion is now closed. We welcome comments on our articles for a limited period after their publication.