REG-Sony Corporation Selection of Board Member Candidates<6758.T>

Wed May 8, 2013 6:41am EDT

* Reuters is not responsible for the content in this press release.

Selection of Board Member Candidates

Sony Corporation
1-7-1 Konan, Minato-ku
Tokyo 108-0075

News & Information

May 8, 2013

Selection of Board Member Candidates

Tokyo, Japan – At the meeting of the Nominating Committee held on May 8, 2013, Sony Corporation named candidates for election to the position of Member of the Board. The selections are subject to the approval at the Ordinary General Meeting of Shareholders to be held on June 20, 2013.

Members of the Board

The candidates for election to the position of Member of the Board are as follows.

Kazuo Hirai     Representative Corporate Executive Officer, President and CEO
Masaru Kato Corporate Executive Officer, EVP and CFO
Peter Bonfield(*) Chairman of the Board, NXP Semiconductors N.V.
Ryuji Yasuda(*) Professor, Graduate School of International Corporate Strategy,

Hitotsubashi University

Yukako Uchinaga(*) Director and Executive Vice President, Benesse Holdings, Inc.

Honorary Chairman, Berlitz Corporation

Mitsuaki Yahagi(*) Special Advisor, The Japan Research Institute, Ltd.
Kanemitsu Anraku(*) Director, Mizuho Financial Group, Inc.
Yorihiko Kojima(*) Chairman of the Board, Mitsubishi Corporation
Osamu Nagayama(*) Representative Director, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer,

Chugai Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd.

Takaaki Nimura(*) Certified Public Accountant
Eikoh Harada(*)(**) Chairman, President and CEO, Representative Director,

McDonald's Company (Japan), Ltd.

McDonald's Holdings Company (Japan), Ltd.

Joichi Ito(*)(**) Director, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) Media Lab
Tim Schaaff(**) Retired President, Sony Network Entertainment International LLC

(*)An Outside Director who satisfies the requirements under Item 15, Article 2 of the Companies Act of Japan

(**) A new candidate for Member of the Board

Members of the Board scheduled to retire

Howard Stringer     Chairman of the Board
Ryoji Chubachi President of the National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology

Retired Representative Corporate Executive Officer, Vice Chairman

Tsun-Yan Hsieh Chairman and Lead Counselor, LinHart Group
Roland A. Hernandez Retired Chairman and Chief Executive Officer,

Telemundo Group, Inc.

Sony Corporation