Bombardier to Supply 30 Additional Regio 2N Double-Deck EMUs in France

Mon Dec 23, 2013 6:34am EST

* Reuters is not responsible for the content in this press release.

Bombardier to Supply 30 Additional Regio 2N Double-Deck EMUs in France

- Order is part of the Regio 2N contract with the French Railways (SNCF) on behalf of the French Regions - This additional firm order for the regions Picardie, Midi-Pyrénées and Pays-de-la-Loire brings the total number of Regio 2N trains ordered to date to 159

BERLIN, GERMANY--(Marketwired - Dec. 23, 2013) - Rail technology leader Bombardier Transportation announced today that SNCF has exercised an option for 30 additional Regio 2N double-deck electric multiple units. The order, which will be financed by the Regions, is valued at approximately 277 million euro ($379 million US). It is part of a 2010 contract with SNCF for up to 860 trains for the French Regions.

Including this option, nine Regions have ordered a total of 159 Regio 2N EMUs. The delivery of the additional trains will take place from June 2016 until April 2017.

"The Regions and SNCF are confirming their trust in the innovative Regio 2N train with this order," said Jean Bergé, President of Bombardier Transportation France. "Regio 2N is a technical platform of double-deck trains that is able to meet the needs of intercity, regional and commuter services. It offers both exceptional capacity and increased passenger comfort compared to conventional rail vehicles, encouraging a shift from individual car to rail travel."

The train with an extra-wide carbody offers improved accessibility thanks to wide doors, gangways and corridors, large vestibules and step-free entrances from platform heights of 550 mm.

This train features technical innovations in terms of reliability, availabililty, and sustainability, while generating economic benefits, like reduced energy consumption. With this new order, Regio 2N will be available in a 200 km/h version as well as in an extra-long 10-car version.

The Regio 2N double-deck EMUs were created by Bombardier teams in Crespin, in the Nord-Pas de Calais Region. Bombardier also designs, builds and tests the vehicles at the site. As the largest industrial rail site in France and a partner of the Nord-Pas de Calais Rail Competitivity Cluster, the Crespin site employs 2,000 people, including 500 engineers and managers. It relies upon a wide network of local suppliers and sub-contractors. Several suppliers have decided to set up their operations next to Bombardier, in the Trans Avenir industrial park, strengthening local employment opportunities and the regional economy.

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. BOMBARDIER ECO4 technologies - built on the four cornerstones of energy, efficiency, economy and ecology - conserve energy, protect the environment and help to improve total train performance for operators and passengers. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's only manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America Indexes. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2012, we posted revenues of $16.8 billion. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at www.bombardier.com/en/media-centre.html

Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail.

BOMBARDIER and ECO4 are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries.

Regio 2N is the trademark of a third party.

FOR INFORMATION

Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2223
John Ince, john.ince@au.transport.bombardier.com
 
Canada: +1 450 441 3007
Marc Laforge, marc.laforge@ca.transport.bombardier.com
 
China: +86 10 8517 2268
Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com
 
France, Benelux and North Africa: +33 6 07 78 95 38
Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com
 
Germany, Austria, Switzerland,
Central and Eastern Europe: +49 30 98607 1134
Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com
 
India and Japan: +91 7 838 660 093
Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com
 
Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714
Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com
 
Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213
Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com
 
South East Asia: +65 6478 6235
Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com
 
Southern Africa and Middle East: +49 30 98607 1147
Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@de.transport.bombardier.com
 
Southern Europe and South America: +35 1 919 693 728
Luis Ramos, luis.ramos@pt.transport.bombardier.com
 
UK: +44 7971 850 606
Jeanette Bowden, jeanette@networkpr.co.uk
 
USA: +1 450 441 3007
Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com

Bombardier Transportation
www.theclimateisrightfortrains.com

Comments (0)
This discussion is now closed. We welcome comments on our articles for a limited period after their publication.