Bombardier Supports Rebuilding Schools in the Philippines

Thu Apr 10, 2014 5:04am EDT

* Reuters is not responsible for the content in this press release.

Bombardier Supports Rebuilding Schools in the Philippines

- Donation to Habitat for Humanity Philippines will re-establish education in communities in Cebu Island heavily affected by typhoon Haiyan in 2013

- Funds raised by Bombardier employees with equal contribution from company management will support 4,500 pupils in Northern Cebu

BERLIN, GERMANY--(Marketwired - Apr 10, 2014) - Rail technology leader Bombardier Transportation has donated $125,000 US in the aftermath of typhoon Haiyan in November last year. The money will fund the rebuilding of three school buildings in Northern Cebu to help the schools resume education in a region where the company operates.

Bombardier signed a Memorandum of Agreement with the non-profit organization Habitat for Humanity Philippines to rebuild the schools located in Tapilon, Kawit and San Remigio. The families of many local Bombardier employees live in these communities.

Following the natural disasters, Bombardier Transportation issued a call for donations to all its employees. Management then matched the amount raised. In accordance with its Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) strategy focusing on the areas of education, environment and entrepreneurship in communities in which it operates, Bombardier Transportation decided to help bring children back to school in areas that were damaged severely.

Bombardier's Finance Shared Services Center in Cebu City is an active member in the community, sponsoring events like the annual Sinulog Festival parade, which attracted about 3.5 million people from across the Philippines this year. The center's employees handle accounting and reporting for 13 countries in Europe, Asia and the Americas.

Evelyn Pantaleon, Principal of Kawit Elementary School said: "We are grateful to the support provided by Bombardier and Habitat for Humanity Philippines, which will change the lives of pupils in Northern Cebu. They are currently completing their semesters and studying in makeshift temporary classrooms. This contribution will enrich and rebuild local communities and is welcomed and appreciated by the pupils and their families."

"Habitat's philosophy is not only to provide houses, but also promote holistic community development," said Habitat CEO & Managing Director Charlie Ayco. "That is why the classrooms that Bombardier have generously donated will definitely help in rebuilding their lives as they move forward after this calamity."

Habitat's Re-build Philippines aims to meet the shelter needs of communities affected by natural or man-made calamities such as super typhoon Haiyan, the Bohol earthquake and the Zamboanga siege. Its disaster response program provides emergency and shelter repair kits and builds core houses for affected families.

For more information about Bombardier's CSR activities and its sustainability report, visit www.csr.bombardier.com/en/media-centre.

About Habitat for Humanity Philippines

Habitat for Humanity Philippines (HFHP) is a non-profit organization that serves Filipino families in need of decent homes. We bring together partners who share the same vision of transforming lives through building responsible and sustainable communities. Established in 1988, HFHP is a country affiliate of Habitat for Humanity International based in Georgia, USA. For 25 years, HFHP has served over 60,000 families throughout the country. HFHP envisions that every Filipino family has a decent place to live. Visit www.habitat.org.ph or www.facebook.com/habitatphilippines for more details.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's only manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America Indexes. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2013, we posted revenues of $18.2 billion. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at www.bombardier.com/en/media-centre.html.

Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail.

BOMBARDIER and ECO4 are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries.

FOR INFORMATION - BOMBARDIER TRANSPORTATION

Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2223

John Ince, john.ince@au.transport.bombardier.com

Benelux: +49 30 98607 1687

Janet Olthof, janet.olthof@de.transport.bombardier.com

Canada: +1 450 441 3007

Marc Laforge, marc.laforge@ca.transport.bombardier.com

China: +86 10 8517 2268

Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com

France and North Africa: +33 6 07 78 95 38

Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com

Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Central and Eastern Europe: +49 30 98607 1134

Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com

India and Japan: +91 7 838 660 093

Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com

Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714

Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com

Middle East: +44 1332 266031

Emma Brett, emma.brett@uk.transport.bombardier.com

Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213

Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com

South East Asia: +65 6478 6235

Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com

Southern Africa and Israel: +49 30 98607 1147

Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@de.transport.bombardier.com

UK: +44 7971 850 606

Jeanette Bowden, jeanette@networkpr.co.uk

USA: +1 450 441 3007

Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com

HABITAT FOR HUMANITY
Gina De Los Reyes Virtusio
+632 846 2177
+63 918 800 4462
+63 905 6654462
gina.virtusio@habitat.org.ph
Bombardier Transportation
www.theclimateisrightfortrains.com

Comments (0)
This discussion is now closed. We welcome comments on our articles for a limited period after their publication.