United States

People: Alexandria Real Estate Equities Inc (ARE)

ARE on New York Consolidated

24 Mar 2017
Change (% chg)

$-0.73 (-0.65%)
Prev Close
Day's High
Day's Low
Avg. Vol
52-wk High
52-wk Low

Freire, Maria 

Dr. Maria C. Freire, Ph.D., has been appointed as Independent Director of Alexandria Real Estate Equities, Inc., effective April 20, 2012. has served as a director since April 2012. In November 2012, Dr. Freire became the President and Executive Director , and a member of the Board of Directors, of the Foundation for the National Institutes of Health (FNIH), a Congressionally-authorized independent organization that draws together the world’s foremost researchers and resources in support of the mission of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Prior to her appointment to the FNIH, Dr . Freire was the President and a member of the Board of Directors of the Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation, a non-profit organization that bestows the Lasker Awards in basic and clinical science and advocates for medical research. From 2001 to 2008, Dr. Freire served as President and Chief Executive Officer of the Global Alliance for TB Drug Development, a public-private partnership that develops better , faster-acting, and affordable drugs to fight tuberculosis. An expert in technology commercialization, she directed the Office of Technology Transfer at the NIH from 1995 to 2001 and served as a commissioner on the World Health Organization’s Commission on Intellectual Property Rights, Innovation and Public Health. Dr. Freire obtained her Bachelor of Science degree from the Universidad Peruana Cayetano Heredia in Lima, Peru, and her Ph.D. in Biophysics from the University of Virginia; she completed post-graduate work in immunology and virology at the University of Virginia and the University of Tennessee. She is on the Science Board of the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and a member of the Commission on a Global Health Risk Framework for the Future of the Institute of Medicine, among others. Her awards include the Department of Health and Human Services Secretary’s Award for Distinguished Service, the Arthur S. Flemming Award, and the Bayh-Dole Award.

Basic Compensation

Total Annual Compensation, --
Restricted Stock Awards, --
Long-Term Incentive Plans, --
All Other, --
Fiscal Year Total, --

Options Compensation

  Quantity Market Value
Exercisable -- --
Unexercisable -- --
Exercised -- --
Name Fiscal Year Total

Joel Marcus


Dean Shigenaga


Stephen Richardson


Thomas Andrews


Daniel Ryan


Peter Moglia

As Of  30 Dec 2015