United States

People: Equity Residential (EQR)

EQR on New York Consolidated

21 Apr 2017
Change (% chg)

$0.00 (+0.00%)
Prev Close
Day's High
Day's Low
Avg. Vol
52-wk High
52-wk Low

Zell, Samuel 

Mr. Samuel Zell serves as Chairman of the Board of Trustees of Equity Residential. He is Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Equity Group Investments, the private entrepreneurial investment firm he founded more than 45 years ago. He is also founder and chairman of Equity International, a private investment firm focused on real estate-related companies outside the U.S., including two publicly-held portfolio companies listed on the NYSE: Gafisa in Brazil (NYSE: GFA) and Homex in Mexico (NYSE: HXM). He also serves as chairman of Anixter International, Inc. (NYSE: AXE), Covanta Holding Corporation (NYSE: CVA), Equity Commonwealth (NYSE: EQC) and Equity LifeStyle Properties, Inc. (NYSE: ELS). Previously, Mr. Zell served as chairman of Equity Office Properties Trust, which was sold in February 2007 for $39 billion in the largest ever private equity transaction at the time. Mr. Zell served as the chairman of the Tribune Company until December 2012, at which time the Tribune Company emerged from Chapter 11 bankruptcy. Mr. Zell serves on the President’s Advisory Board at the University of Michigan and with the combined efforts of the University of Michigan Business School, established the Zell/Lurie Entrepreneurial Center. He is also a long-standing supporter of the University of Pennsylvania Wharton Real Estate Center, where he endowed the Samuel Zell/Robert Lurie Real Estate Center. Zell also endowed Northwestern University’s Center for Risk Management. Mr. Zell received a J.D. from the University of Michigan Law School.

Basic Compensation

Total Annual Compensation, USD --
Restricted Stock Awards, USD 2,437,450
Long-Term Incentive Plans, USD --
All Other, USD 812,546
Fiscal Year Total, USD 3,250,000

Options Compensation

  Quantity Market Value
Exercisable -- --
Unexercisable -- --
Exercised -- --
Name Fiscal Year Total

Samuel Zell


David Neithercut


Gerald Spector


Mark Parrell


David Santee


Alan George

As Of  30 Dec 2015