Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Business

The rise of the floor-cleaning robot

Wednesday, Mar 14, 2012 - 02:35

March 15 - U.S. based robotics company iRobot is betting people are increasingly willing to have robots in their homes to perform household chores, and is using military technology to help its robots do a thorough job. Matt Cowan reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Europeans are often represented as laggards when it comes to embracing innovative new technologies...well, here's one space where they're miles ahead of Americans according to a U.S. company named after the Isaac Asimov novel IRobot. That's right. Robotic floor cleaning. SOUNDBITE: Colin Angle, iRobot CEO saying (English): "We're selling most of our robots outside of the United States, principally in Europe. There's something about the European customer that must be open to the idea that maybe pushing an automatic vacuum cleaner every day isn't why they're here." Colin Angle is the CEO of the Massachussets based robotics company and is in London to launch a new floor scrubbing robot called Scooba. The PackBot you see in the background is designed for very different purposes - to reduce the risk to human life in combat zones. This robot can climb stairs. It has a remote controlled arm to investigate potentially dangerous situations. And it can even get back on an even keel if its knocked over. Saving lives and cleaning carpets - believe it or not, there is some overlap says Angle. SOUNDBITE: Colin Angle, iRobot CEO saying (English): "Our most famous robot, the Roomba vacuuming robot does a very thorough job cleaning your room. Why? Because the algorithms that were put into the robot came out of a military mine hunting program where obviously being thorough was incredibly important." The rise of the robot in our everyday lives has been a staple of futuristic thinking for quite some time. And to a certain extent, it is becoming a reality. There are robots to entertain us, robots to serve us and even humanoid robots designed to help the brighter among us learn the finer points of dentistry. But Angle says this is the new frontier. SOUNDBITE: Colin Angle, iRobot CEO saying (English): "We take vacuuming as seriously as we take bomb disposal." Finding simple solutions to complex problems is the best way, he says, to turn yesteryear's science fiction into tomorrow's commonplace reality. Matt Cowan, Reuters.

The rise of the floor-cleaning robot

Wednesday, Mar 14, 2012 - 02:35

Money »

Apple hits $100 a share Apple hits $100 a share

Tue, Aug 19, 2014 - (2:06)

Nasdaq closes at 14-year high Nasdaq closes at 14-year high

Mon, Aug 18, 2014 - (2:23)

Putin puts Wall Street in buying mood Putin puts Wall Street in buying mood

Thu, Aug 14, 2014 - (2:10)

We've become a promotional culture-RetailMeNot's Bodge We've become a promotional...

Thu, Aug 14, 2014 - (4:39)

Dow back to positive territory for year Dow back to positive territory for year

Wed, Aug 13, 2014 - (2:18)

Markets cheer Russia's Ukraine exit Markets cheer Russia's Ukraine exit

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (1:50)

Russia, Iraq push Dow to three-month low Russia, Iraq push Dow to three-month low

Thu, Aug 07, 2014 - (2:27)

Wall Street gains but telecom disconnected Wall Street gains but telecom disconnected

Wed, Aug 06, 2014 - (2:28)

Stocks zapped by energy weakness Stocks zapped by energy weakness

Tue, Aug 05, 2014 - (2:46)

Stocks recover with refocus on earnings Stocks recover with refocus on earnings

Mon, Aug 04, 2014 - (2:19)

The S&P 500 suffers worst week in 2 years The S&P 500 suffers worst week in 2 years

Fri, Aug 01, 2014 - (2:41)

The Exchange »

The Exchange: Hot commodity The Exchange: Hot commodity

Wed, Jul 16, 2014 - (9:25)

The Exchange: Constitutional crusade The Exchange: Constitutional crusade

Wed, Jun 25, 2014 - (11:35)

The Exchange: The value of money The Exchange: The value of money

Mon, Jun 02, 2014 - (9:53)

The Exchange: China’s Second Continent The Exchange: China’s Second Continent

Tue, May 27, 2014 - (9:35)

The Exchange: A master of business arts The Exchange: A master of business arts

Thu, May 08, 2014 - (8:24)

The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities

Mon, May 05, 2014 - (8:52)

The Exchange: Let the rocking commence The Exchange: Let the rocking commence

Tue, Apr 08, 2014 - (8:13)

The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies

Mon, Mar 24, 2014 - (9:54)

Is doing good a good business? Is doing good a good business?

Mon, Mar 17, 2014 - (7:38)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals

Fri, Jun 06, 2014 - (1:08)

VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light

Fri, May 30, 2014 - (1:37)

The week that changed Boston The week that changed Boston

Mon, Apr 14, 2014 - (3:28)