Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Video

A question of sanity in the trial of Norwegian killer Breivik

Sunday, Apr 15, 2012 - 02:09

April 15 - The trial of Anders Behring Breivik, who killed 77 people in Norway last summer, begins on Monday. The admitted killer's sentence could depend on whether a panel of judges decides he is sane or psychotic. Katharine Jackson reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

A team of psychiatrists in Norway announces their conclusion: Anders Behring Breivik was sane when he killed 77 people last summer. (SOUNDBITE) (Norwegian) PSYCHIATRIST AND REPORT AUTHOR AGNAR ASPAAS SAYING: "We found the defendant was not psychotic at the time the crimes were perpetrated. We have no reason to comment further on the content as it is secret. And it is now up to the court to evaluate the report further." A prior report determined Breivik to be a psychotic who suffered from paranoid schizophrenia. If found guilty, Breivik's sentencing - to prison or a psychiatric hospital - will likely hinge on whether a panel of judges decides he is sane or psychotic. He faces a maximum 21-year prison sentence, but could be held indefinitely if considered a continuing danger. If declared insane, he would be held in a psychiatric institution indefinitely with periodic review. Breivik has admitted he set off a bomb that killed eight people at government headquarters in Oslo on July 22, then massacred 69 people with gunfire at a Labour Party summer camp, where most victims were teenagers. The 33-year old has said he wants the attacks to be considered a political act designed to punish pro-immigration factions in Norway. Breivik's lawyer briefed his client on the most recent report in the jail where he awaits trial. (SOUNDBITE) (Norwegian) BREIVIK'S LAWYER GEIR LIPPESTAD SAYING: "His first comment was that he was satisfied with the conclusion that the two psychiatrists had found. He agrees with them that he is mentally sane." A day away from the trial's start, the courthouse in central Oslo is crowded with TV trucks representing some of the nearly 200 media organizations on site to cover the trial. A verdict on terrorism and murder charges is expected by July 20. Katharine Jackson, Reuters.

A question of sanity in the trial of Norwegian killer Breivik

Sunday, Apr 15, 2012 - 02:09

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)