Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

World News

North Korea celebrates military anniversary amid rising tension

Wednesday, April 25, 2012 - 01:57

April 25 - North Korea holds a mass indoor rally to mark the 80th anniversary of its army amid increasing tensions on the Korean peninsula. Simon Hanna reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

North Korean leader Kim Jong-un attends a mass indoor rally to mark the 80th anniversary of one of the world's largest standing armies. Top ranking North Korean officials were also on the stage, seated in front of portraits of former leaders Kim Jong-il and Kim Il-sung. The Chief of the North Korean army vowed to defend the nation from any aggression. (SOUNDBITE) (Korean) CHIEF OF NORTH KOREAN ARMY RI YONG-HO: "We will never forgive any invasion of our sacred air, land or sea by enemies and we will make an historical achievement by unifying our fatherland." A day earlier North Korean state television KRT broadcast military training footage showing soldiers destroying an effigy named after the South Korean president Lee Myung-bak. The network also showed a rally against Lee by workers of a textile factory in Pyongyang. South of the border in Seoul, a group of protesters were denouncing the North for what they call their threatening behaviour. Around 30 elderly demonstrators gathered in front of South Korea's defence ministry to condemn their northern neighbours. (SOUNDBITE) (Korean) SOUTH KOREAN PROTESTER, BONG TAE-HONG: "North Korea is continuing to make cheap threats and intimidation using unspeakable words. We're gathered in front of the defence ministry to call on the ministry to make a pinpoint strike against Kim Jong-un's office if the North provokes. We want to take this as an opportunity to destroy the North's dictatorial regime." Pyongyang received international condemnation for going ahead with a failed rocket launch earlier this month. Washington, Seoul and Tokyo are concerned that North Korea may now be preparing a nuclear test using highly enriched uranium for the first time. Simon Hanna, Reuters. -

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

North Korea celebrates military anniversary amid rising tension

Wednesday, April 25, 2012 - 01:57

Top News »

Most Popular »

Investing 201 »

Bond investors brace for the end of Fed stimulus Bond investors brace for the end of Fed...

Fri, Oct 10, 2014 - (4:03)

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

Money Clip »

Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments? Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments?

Thu, Oct 16, 2014 - (2:45)

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, Oct 20, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Wed, Oct 01, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)