Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Tech Videos

Botanists hail new era of DNA plant identification

Thursday, April 26, 2012 - 02:42

April 26 - Under sweeping new rules, botanists have made their first formal plant species identification solely through DNA sequencing. Prior to January 1, new plants had to be described by their visual characteristics in Latin. There are no Latin words to describe DNA results, so the technology could not be fully applied. But now, Latin is no longer required so the door is open to a faster and more efficient way to identify new species. Tara Cleary has more.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

PLEASE NOTE: EDIT CONTAINS CONVERTED 4:3 MATERIAL Brunfelsia plowmaniana is a flowering shrub found in the Andes, on the west coast of South America. Until recently it was thought to be the same plant as Brunfelsia uniflora which is found in Eastern Brazil. But through DNA extraction and sequencing, like that being carried out in a lab at the New York Botanical Gardens, the plant is now known to be its own species. Michael Nee, curator of Systematic Botany at the Botanical Garden says he and fellow botanist Natalia Filipowicz were never convinced that the two were identical. SOUNDBITE: MICHAEL NEE, CURATOR, INSTITUTE OF SYSTEMATIC BOTANY, NEW YORK BOTANICAL GARDEN, SAYING: "Both of us had some doubts, because here in the Andes, way up at five, six, seven thousand feet is this shrub and then there's nothing in-between until you get almost over to the Atlantic Ocean in Eastern Brazil and there's another one that looks like it and they look very similar." Brunfelsia plowmaniana is the first plant species identified purely by the results of sequencing short DNA regions. The Europe-based members of the team analyzed and identified DNA samples of both plants using "barcoding" sequences. And with Latin no longer required as part of the plant description process, Nee says a new era of rapid and accurate identification has begun. SOUNDBITE: MICHAEL NEE, CURATOR, INSTITUTE OF SYSTEMATIC BOTANY, NEW YORK BOTANICAL GARDEN, SAYING: "Without a requirement for Latin describing this, we don't have to go through the rigmarole of having to invent a bunch of new terminology. The big breakthrough though, really was that now it is possible to say that this species differs from this species because they differ in these points on the DNA molecule." Thanks to another rule change, scientists can also publish new plant descriptions on-line instead of exclusively in print. Nee says the new rules are likely to help speed up the process of describing new species, a process that previously took decades in many cases. Meaning that some species could become extinct before being named. Nee has been collecting specimens in the eastern Andes of Bolivia for 27 years. He says he's excited by the new possibilities. SOUNDBITE: MICHAEL NEE, CURATOR, INSTITUTE OF SYSTEMATIC BOTANY, NEW YORK BOTANICAL GARDEN, SAYING: "It's the explosion of collecting in certain areas of the world and the new techniques that we have that are really helping to find these things that we didn't know about before and some, in many ways, speeding up the discovery of new species." Species like Brunfelsia plowmaniana, the first new plant in botany's new world. Tara Cleary, Reuters.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Botanists hail new era of DNA plant identification

Thursday, April 26, 2012 - 02:42

Top News »

Most Popular »

Retirement »

Investing 201 »

Bond investors brace for the end of Fed stimulus Bond investors brace for the end of Fed...

Fri, Oct 10, 2014 - (4:03)

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Why bruised Brazil is a buy Why bruised Brazil is a buy

Fri, Jul 19, 2013 - (2:48)

3 ways to fix your bond portfolio 3 ways to fix your bond portfolio

Thu, Jul 11, 2013 - (3:10)

The next gold? Diamonds lure investors The next gold? Diamonds lure investors

Wed, Jul 03, 2013 - (2:38)

How to play the Fed’s tapering timeline How to play the Fed’s tapering timeline

Thu, Jun 20, 2013 - (2:34)

How to play banker on the web How to play banker on the web

Tue, Jun 11, 2013 - (2:57)

3 surprises about the 2013 stock rally 3 surprises about the 2013 stock rally

Fri, May 24, 2013 - (2:11)

How to cash in on lawsuits - Investing 201 How to cash in on lawsuits - Investing 201

Tue, Apr 30, 2013 - (2:30)

Rising dollar will drive stocks higher Rising dollar will drive stocks higher

Wed, Apr 10, 2013 - (2:32)

A little-known path to big dividends - Investing 201 A little-known path to big dividends -...

Thu, Apr 04, 2013 - (3:16)

What exactly does Warren Buffett own? - Investing 201 What exactly does Warren Buffett own? -...

Thu, Feb 14, 2013 - (0:51)

Big short bets: Where are they now? - Investing 201 Big short bets: Where are they now? -...

Fri, Dec 21, 2012 - (2:33)

Money Clip »

How to get out of debt How to get out of debt

Thu, Oct 30, 2014 - (3:37)

Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments? Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments?

Thu, Oct 16, 2014 - (2:45)

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

How to break your prenup - Money Clip How to break your prenup - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 07, 2013 - (1:18)

Watch your wallet on Pinterest - Money Clip Watch your wallet on Pinterest - Money Clip

Thu, Feb 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Get set for the big bull run - Money Clip Get set for the big bull run - Money Clip

Thu, Jan 24, 2013 - (3:41)

Moving Pictures »

Images of November Images of November

Tue, Dec 02, 2014 - (0:30)

Images of October Images of October

Mon, Nov 03, 2014 - (0:57)

The world in a city The world in a city

Fri, Oct 31, 2014 - (1:30)

Real-life superheroes Real-life superheroes

Tue, Oct 28, 2014 - (1:44)

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, Oct 20, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Wed, Oct 01, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, Jul 03, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals

Fri, Jun 06, 2014 - (1:08)

VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light

Fri, May 30, 2014 - (1:37)

The week that changed Boston The week that changed Boston

Mon, Apr 14, 2014 - (3:28)

360° snapshot of life in Kabul 360° snapshot of life in Kabul

Fri, Apr 04, 2014 - (1:26)

A blind teenager, living with vision A blind teenager, living with vision

Thu, Mar 27, 2014 - (3:51)

TIMELAPSE: Backstage at the Oscars TIMELAPSE: Backstage at the Oscars

Wed, Mar 05, 2014 - (2:49)

TIMELAPSE: Lunch with Oscar nominees TIMELAPSE: Lunch with Oscar nominees

Wed, Feb 12, 2014 - (2:55)

Sochi Highlights: Let the games begin Sochi Highlights: Let the games begin

Fri, Feb 07, 2014 - (0:40)

TIMELAPSE: On the Golden Globes red carpet TIMELAPSE: On the Golden Globes red carpet

Tue, Jan 14, 2014 - (3:28)

Pictures of the Year 2013 Pictures of the Year 2013

Fri, Dec 20, 2013 - (3:03)

Marching to the beat of Sousa's drum Marching to the beat of Sousa's drum

Thu, Dec 05, 2013 - (6:11)

The Gettysburg Address The Gettysburg Address

Thu, Nov 28, 2013 - (2:31)

Reuters Investigates »

Where the sea is closing in Where the sea is closing in

Thu, Nov 20, 2014 - (3:41)

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:22)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:02)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:40)

Lessons of the Jihad Jane case - Reuters Investigates Lessons of the Jihad Jane case - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (3:43)

Exclusive: Jihad Jane in her own words Exclusive: Jihad Jane in her own words

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (4:11)

Attorney: How a Maryland teenager became radicalized - Reuters Investigates Attorney: How a Maryland teenager became...

Fri, Dec 07, 2012 - (4:21)

Dateline Asia »

North Korea to blame for Sony hack: source North Korea to blame for Sony hack: source

Thu, Dec 18, 2014 - (1:10)

China's house prices fall again China's house prices fall again

Thu, Dec 18, 2014 - (1:10)

China's child labor problem China's child labor problem

Thu, Dec 18, 2014 - (2:19)

Measuring up North Korea's heir Measuring up North Korea's heir

Wed, Dec 17, 2014 - (1:03)

Russia worries rock emerging markets Russia worries rock emerging markets

Wed, Dec 17, 2014 - (1:14)

Seoul raises the "nut rage" stakes Seoul raises the "nut rage" stakes

Tue, Dec 16, 2014 - (1:03)

Sydney in shock after hostage horror Sydney in shock after hostage horror

Tue, Dec 16, 2014 - (1:07)

Not all merry and bright in China's manufacturing sector Not all merry and bright in China's...

Tue, Dec 16, 2014 - (1:29)

Beneath the surface of Abe's big win Beneath the surface of Abe's big win

Mon, Dec 15, 2014 - (1:15)

Some hostages escape from Sydney cafe Some hostages escape from Sydney cafe

Mon, Dec 15, 2014 - (1:06)

Abe eyes big win in Japan election Abe eyes big win in Japan election

Sun, Dec 14, 2014 - (1:00)

Afghan Bruce Lee sets sights on global fame Afghan Bruce Lee sets sights on global fame

Fri, Dec 12, 2014 - (1:40)

Asian markets rattled by oil price drop Asian markets rattled by oil price drop

Thu, Dec 11, 2014 - (1:14)

Final stand for Hong Kong's protesters Final stand for Hong Kong's protesters

Thu, Dec 11, 2014 - (1:21)

Asia markets stumble as oil tumbles Asia markets stumble as oil tumbles

Thu, Dec 11, 2014 - (1:15)

All eyes on upcoming Dalian Wanda IPO All eyes on upcoming Dalian Wanda IPO

Thu, Dec 11, 2014 - (2:52)

Final hours for Hong Kong protesters Final hours for Hong Kong protesters

Wed, Dec 10, 2014 - (1:57)

Anger at Japan's new state secrets law Anger at Japan's new state secrets law

Wed, Dec 10, 2014 - (1:33)

Charm offensive for KFC in China Charm offensive for KFC in China

Wed, Dec 10, 2014 - (2:13)

Pro-ISIS pockets at Kabul University Pro-ISIS pockets at Kabul University

Wed, Dec 10, 2014 - (1:46)

Volatility the new norm in China Volatility the new norm in China

Wed, Dec 10, 2014 - (1:44)

Investor feedback trimmed Dalian Wanda IPO Investor feedback trimmed Dalian Wanda IPO

Tue, Dec 09, 2014 - (4:26)