Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Lifestyle

Noma is still the world's best restaurant

Monday, April 30, 2012 - 02:11

May 1 - Danish restaurant ''Noma'' wins top accolade in ''World's 50 Best Restaurants'' list for third year in a row. Sonia Legg reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

The world's top chefs gather in London for the restaurant Oscars. A place on the World's 50 Best Restaurant List is worth a lot of truffles, as Massimo Bottura - chef at Italy's Osteria Francescana - appreciates. (SOUNDBITE) (English) CHEF MASSIMO BOTTURA, SAYING: "For a small restaurant like mine in a small town like Modena, being on a list like this means attracting people. It means being recognised as what you do everyday is that you're going in the right direction and this is such an important thing." The biggest heavyweights in international cuisine made the annual pilgrimage. This is one event where simple canapes clearly wouldn't do. The contenders for the top spot were truly global - chefs came from far and wide including Spain and Italy, New York and Brazil But the winner was a very familiar name. ACTUALITY OF ANNOUNCENMENT Noma is in Denmark. It made it's name from it's innovative cooking and it's turned the city of Copenhagen into a foodie destination (SOUNDBITE) (English) NOMA CHEF RENE REDZEPI, SAYING: "What's also amazing is that your region that's seeing all this new curiosity from the world - we've had that before of course but usually that's for design or Hans Christian Anderson or something like that - this is a new thing and it gives us confidence, this whole generation of new chefs just gets a confidence boost and it's just amazing to be part of that and this adds to the momentum that's happening." Other winners included Thomas Keller from California's French Laundry. He won a lifetime achievement award. And Elena Arzak from Spain who won was best female chef. But once again it was Noma's night - their unique Nordic cuisine earning them their industry's ultimate accolade. Sonia Legg, Reuters.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Noma is still the world's best restaurant

Monday, April 30, 2012 - 02:11

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, Jul 03, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)