Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Business

Facebook's advertising challenge

Wednesday, May 16, 2012 - 02:13

May 16 - Amid the hype over Facebook's public trading debut, the social media network suffers a black eye as General Motors pulls its ads. A source tells Reuters they weren't working. Jeanne Yurman reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Facebook users apparently click on about one of every 2,000 ads. That sums up Facebook's advertising problem. It's also appears to be part of the reason General Motors decided to stop paying for advertising on Facebook. Telling Reuters, its ads simply weren't having an impact with consumers. It's the biggest black mark for Facebook as it prepares to launch one of the most hyped IPOs ever. Matt Donovan, Executive Vice President of McCann New York, says big companies are still grappling with how to get the most from social media. MATT DONOVAN, VICE PRESIDENT, MCCANN NEW YORK SAYING (ENGLISH): "It's still a very effective but very early medium. Social is only four to five to six years old depending on what you use as your birthdate and big companies are still trying to understand how do we connect into a community of people and build engagement with that group of people and at the same time achieve our advertising aims." General Motors spent about $10 million in paid advertising on Facebook according to the Wall Street Journal - a fraction of the social media site's $3.7 billion in annual revenues. Also notable is that GM is still plans to maintain a presence on Facebook with unpaid marketing efforts. And some media analysts say Facebook is only just beginning to tap its advertising potential. MATT DONOVAN, VICE PRESIDENT, MCCANN NEW YORK SAYING (ENGLISH): "I think about the evolving social television experience, where Facebook could play such a huge role in connecting your three different screens. You could have your mobile, your tablet and television on at the same time and Facebook is actively involved in all three of those experiences. So the ability to use the data they collect on those type of experiences for advertisers and for the betterment of consumers is immense and it's untapped." That seems to be the reason most major advertisers have stuck with Facebook. Jeanne Yurman, Reuters

Facebook's advertising challenge

Wednesday, May 16, 2012 - 02:13

Top News »

Money »

S&P falls back from record high S&P falls back from record high

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (1:35)

S&P 500 closes at new high S&P 500 closes at new high

Thu, Aug 21, 2014 - (1:24)

S&P 500 just shy of record S&P 500 just shy of record

Wed, Aug 20, 2014 - (2:23)

Apple hits $100 a share Apple hits $100 a share

Tue, Aug 19, 2014 - (2:06)

Nasdaq closes at 14-year high Nasdaq closes at 14-year high

Mon, Aug 18, 2014 - (2:23)

Putin puts Wall Street in buying mood Putin puts Wall Street in buying mood

Thu, Aug 14, 2014 - (2:10)

We've become a promotional culture-RetailMeNot's Bodge We've become a promotional...

Thu, Aug 14, 2014 - (4:39)

Dow back to positive territory for year Dow back to positive territory for year

Wed, Aug 13, 2014 - (2:18)

Markets cheer Russia's Ukraine exit Markets cheer Russia's Ukraine exit

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (1:50)

Russia, Iraq push Dow to three-month low Russia, Iraq push Dow to three-month low

Thu, Aug 07, 2014 - (2:27)

Wall Street gains but telecom disconnected Wall Street gains but telecom disconnected

Wed, Aug 06, 2014 - (2:28)

The Exchange »

The Exchange: Hot commodity The Exchange: Hot commodity

Wed, Jul 16, 2014 - (9:25)

The Exchange: Constitutional crusade The Exchange: Constitutional crusade

Wed, Jun 25, 2014 - (11:35)

The Exchange: The value of money The Exchange: The value of money

Mon, Jun 02, 2014 - (9:53)

The Exchange: China’s Second Continent The Exchange: China’s Second Continent

Tue, May 27, 2014 - (9:35)

The Exchange: A master of business arts The Exchange: A master of business arts

Thu, May 08, 2014 - (8:24)

The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities

Mon, May 05, 2014 - (8:52)

The Exchange: Let the rocking commence The Exchange: Let the rocking commence

Tue, Apr 08, 2014 - (8:13)

The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies

Mon, Mar 24, 2014 - (9:54)

Is doing good a good business? Is doing good a good business?

Mon, Mar 17, 2014 - (7:38)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals

Fri, Jun 06, 2014 - (1:08)

VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light

Fri, May 30, 2014 - (1:37)

The week that changed Boston The week that changed Boston

Mon, Apr 14, 2014 - (3:28)