Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Small Business

Selling human hair a growing industry

Monday, May 21, 2012 - 02:21

May 22 - British women struggling to cope with mounting debts are selling their hair as a novel way of making money, with some earning up to £250 for the best quality natural blonde hair. Hayley Platt reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Annette Moore's long blonde hair has been her crowing glory for years. Now she's decided to get the lot chopped off. But she won't be paying the salon - they'll be paying her. SOUNDBITE: Graham Wake, founder and owner of Bloomsbury Wigs, saying (English): "You're looking at anything from about £60 upwards, I would have to put a top on it of about £120." With money tight and bills to pay a number of British women are selling their hair to make some extra cash. And Annette's natural blond locks are among the most sought after. SOUNDBITE: Annette Moore, saying (English): "Well I need the money really, I might use it for going abroad with friends in August or just keep it aside for the bills really." It's a multi-million dollar industry and it's growing - Bloomsbury say they receive up to 40 envelopes of hair a week. Those that make the grade will either be made into a wig or sold as hair extensions. The late British singer Amy Winehouse once replied when asked if her hair was all her own "It's all mine because I bought it." The majority of hair comes from China, India or Eastern Europe, but that's changing. Bloomsbury Wigs run by Graham Wake, is one of a small number of so-called 'hair harvesting salons'. SOUNDBITE: Graham Wake, founder and owner of Bloomsbury Wigs, saying (English): "This is a new market for the UK, I would say that about 50 percent of our purchased hair is now within the UK and I would hope to say that within about a year we'll be buying a 100 percent of our hair purely from the UK." Graham estimates he'll spend £100,000 on hair this year. £120 of that will go to Annette but it will be sold for considerably more after it's been made into a wig or hair extensions. SOUNDBITE: Graham Wake, owner of Bloomsbury Wigs, saying (English): "The clients love to be able to come in, look at all this unprocessed hair and actually select the pony tails and they give us some time to obviously make them up into extensions. This will probably cost from about a £1,000 to about £1,300." Annette's certainly pleased with the extra cash and her new complimentary hair do. But if she wants to repeat the process it may take up to five years until her hair grows back. Hayley Platt, Reuters

Selling human hair a growing industry

Monday, May 21, 2012 - 02:21

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)