Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

The Freeland File

China's vision: The renminbi as a rival to the dollar - Freeland File

Sunday, July 01, 2012 - 02:20

During a panel at the Aspen Ideas Festival, Chrystia Freeland and Simon Johnson discuss China's goals, its hunger for investment and the strong chance it'll slide into a recession. (July 2, 2012)

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

It's what he. Is it's again. City slowing down it is to some degree that they have more of an ability potentially to -- in the vote that some other countries. But the Europeans. What that would mean they have a major problem. The fact that China has some longstanding issues we've got the government with the what about how to finance investment hunger for investment. It's what oh I don't think they would necessarily have to go through this kind of crisis. But it is also proven for countries to become rich and go to the state without going through and it. And next chapter in -- -- -- depressed that the Chinese crisis. It is if it's I think it might be -- and it doesn't destabilize the world that only between success and what you what you need to worry about in terms of events that really move us away from the kind of expert experience -- it's yours is a disaster in Europe. -- It's approaching. And a failure to bring our fiscal house in order under control in the United States. Once the Europeans have gone through this crisis may take awhile -- take two years 95 is they take ten years once the US is no longer the predominant. Number one's a patent for best around the world. Then we will face pressure and and the US remains safe haven. Up until you're either exit every game tactically or the crisis well they'd -- the Chinese want to create a -- reserve currency it would make it written B. Right into the thought. And there are some people. Who think they can do this -- about mutual. Next five years I think that they can do it wouldn't take long elect went to -- so eventually yes. We will be challenged in respect what happens in Europe. I think the more likely short term pressure comes from that Europeans to deepen the crisis at least of them come out the form -- dramatic -- -- -- -- off. Which rivals the US dollars of -- And once it's actually -- have more choice again. The pressure. You should absolutely step down from this situation if it undermines. That the legitimacy and the integrity of the Federal Reserve System.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

China's vision: The renminbi as a rival to the dollar - Freeland File

Sunday, July 01, 2012 - 02:20

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Moving Pictures »

Images of September Images of September

Wed, Oct 01, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, Jul 03, 2014 - (3:25)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)