Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

9/11

Angelina Jolie visits Syrian refugees in Jordan

Tuesday, Sep 11, 2012 - 01:41

Sept. 11 - Actress and UNHCR Special Envoy Angelina Jolie visits Syrian refugees in Jordan's Zaatari camp, with High Commissioner for refugees Antonio Guterres.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

UN ambassador Angelina Jolie arrived at a refugee camp in Jordan on Tuesday (September 11), meeting civilians fleeing the bloodshed in Syria. More than 80,000 people have escaped to Jordan since the conflict erupted 18 months ago. Jolie, who was accompanied by UN refugee chief Antonio Guterres and Jordanian Foreign Minister Nasser Judeh, spoke about some of the horror stories people had shared with her on her visit. SOUNDBITE: Angelina Jolie, U.N. Refugee Special Envoy, saying (English): "Often times you come to these camps and we have been around the world and met with people in conflict situations, very rarely you come when you meet them as they cross the border and you get to know people, the moment they become a refugee, the moment they have forever lost their home, their schooling, their livelihood, education, everything that they have been is gone and when I ask them what did you bring they say this, the shirt on my back. The Hollywood actress looked deeply affected by some of the graphic tales she heard from children as young as nine, who'd seen first hand the horror and brutality of the conflict. Stories that are hard for anyone to hear, particularly for a mother. SOUNDBITE: Angelina Jolie, U.N. Refugee Special Envoy, saying (English): "As a mother certainly, the amount of innocent children that are reported dead, the amount of innocent children I've met here who are wounded, and unaccompanied with their parents being killed and now they are on their own. It is impossible to imagine any mother standing by and not stepping up and doing something to stop this." Jordan admits it is struggling to cope with the thousands of people flooding into its country every day. Jolie's visit they hope will help to ramp up more international funding which is so desperately needed.

Angelina Jolie visits Syrian refugees in Jordan

Tuesday, Sep 11, 2012 - 01:41

Top News »

Money »

S&P 500 just shy of record S&P 500 just shy of record

Wed, Aug 20, 2014 - (2:23)

Apple hits $100 a share Apple hits $100 a share

Tue, Aug 19, 2014 - (2:06)

Nasdaq closes at 14-year high Nasdaq closes at 14-year high

Mon, Aug 18, 2014 - (2:23)

Putin puts Wall Street in buying mood Putin puts Wall Street in buying mood

Thu, Aug 14, 2014 - (2:10)

We've become a promotional culture-RetailMeNot's Bodge We've become a promotional...

Thu, Aug 14, 2014 - (4:39)

Dow back to positive territory for year Dow back to positive territory for year

Wed, Aug 13, 2014 - (2:18)

Markets cheer Russia's Ukraine exit Markets cheer Russia's Ukraine exit

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (1:50)

Russia, Iraq push Dow to three-month low Russia, Iraq push Dow to three-month low

Thu, Aug 07, 2014 - (2:27)

Wall Street gains but telecom disconnected Wall Street gains but telecom disconnected

Wed, Aug 06, 2014 - (2:28)

Stocks zapped by energy weakness Stocks zapped by energy weakness

Tue, Aug 05, 2014 - (2:46)

Stocks recover with refocus on earnings Stocks recover with refocus on earnings

Mon, Aug 04, 2014 - (2:19)

The Exchange »

The Exchange: Hot commodity The Exchange: Hot commodity

Wed, Jul 16, 2014 - (9:25)

The Exchange: Constitutional crusade The Exchange: Constitutional crusade

Wed, Jun 25, 2014 - (11:35)

The Exchange: The value of money The Exchange: The value of money

Mon, Jun 02, 2014 - (9:53)

The Exchange: China’s Second Continent The Exchange: China’s Second Continent

Tue, May 27, 2014 - (9:35)

The Exchange: A master of business arts The Exchange: A master of business arts

Thu, May 08, 2014 - (8:24)

The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities

Mon, May 05, 2014 - (8:52)

The Exchange: Let the rocking commence The Exchange: Let the rocking commence

Tue, Apr 08, 2014 - (8:13)

The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies

Mon, Mar 24, 2014 - (9:54)

Is doing good a good business? Is doing good a good business?

Mon, Mar 17, 2014 - (7:38)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals

Fri, Jun 06, 2014 - (1:08)

VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light

Fri, May 30, 2014 - (1:37)

The week that changed Boston The week that changed Boston

Mon, Apr 14, 2014 - (3:28)