Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Finance Videos

U.S. Week Ahead: China fears haunt corporate America

Friday, Sep 21, 2012 - 02:47

Sep 21 - Pay attention to Caterpillar's outlook and Nike results for clues about how much the Chinese economic slowdown might costs U.S. companies.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

From fort laughs Q but where more clues about how much the tiny slowdown is costing corporate America. Pay attention to what caterpillar as an outlook on -- -- and to what Nike reports in its earnings Thursday. Expected to forecast higher profit sport when he thirteenth but will be cautious on China the company having a tough time selling bulldozers there. And it now exporting machines to Africa and the middle the -- he has also suffered. Orders from their last quarter only rose by 5% in greater China down significantly from last year. Investors that maybe and for a bumpy ride and. We've received more negative guidance several companies are very concerned what the slowdown in China's economy. One example of the equipment maker Molex incorporated. Which recently sad that they expect labor costs and China to increase by fifteen to 20%. Which is very concerning especially since this will continue to eat up profits into the third quarter. We'll find out if America's top -- are ready to hire again when the business roundtable CEOs survey comes out on Wednesday and confidence soured and less than half of bosses from key companies plan to add jobs. Or boost spending in the next six months also the top concern with the European debt crisis. Will see if that has changed at all given new attempts to tackle the problem in the heroes out. That -- had there could be more signs of recovery and housing. I apart said new home sales out on Wednesday should -- slightly ironically our record low availability of homes on the market is restraining sales. I -- part that the sector needs to see more construction. Also be sure to find out what -- are sad about housing on Monday when it reports results. It beat estimates last quarter as the home builder was able to charge higher prices to buyers looking to take advantage. A record low interest rates. Well the iPhone 5 fever sweeps the world Research in Motion is still at death. The door. We'll take the pulse of the Blackberry maker when it reports third -- it expects to see another loss at its market share evaporate into the -- that's an apple and android -- investors will wanna hear about how rim can turn itself around options include partnerships. -- maybe even an outright sale. David British TV an insider for a more analysis on the big market mover and interviews with top newsmakers. Talk to Cisco -- John Chambers on Tuesday about his outlook for the economy. His views on IT spending and how he has slashed costs at the tech titan. I'm -- mom this has writers.

U.S. Week Ahead: China fears haunt corporate America

Friday, Sep 21, 2012 - 02:47

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)