Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Business

Toyota strike complicates South Africa's crisis

Thursday, October 04, 2012 - 01:58

Oct. 4 - Toyota says an illegal three-day strike at its South African manufacturing plant in Durban is over but with an ongong mining crisis the country's image as an investment oppotunity is taking a battering. Sonia Legg report.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Relief for Toyota as striking South African workers agree to return to work. The illegal action halted production for three days. Leo Kok is a company spokesman. (SOUNDBITE) ( English) TOYOTA SPOKESPERSON LEO KOK SAYING: "In terms of the impact we are running at current capacity so we have to catch back on the lost production we all have to work overtime and will be discussed it with the our staff, and one has to consider that we 58 export clients, 58 countries that export our vehicles to, and it is very important to the image and for agreements we resolve and fill those orders as soon as possible." The strike set alarm bells ringing in a country still struggling to deal with widespread illegal action by miners. 75,000 platinum, gold and coal miners - a sixth of the industry's workforce in the country - continue to hold out for better pay and conditions. A truckers' strike too has been causing widespread disruption. And many fear there could be long term damage to South Africa's image. Laone Sharp is a labour analyst. (SOUNDBITE) ( English) LABOUR ANALYST LAONE SHARP SAYING: "This strike have terrible disruptive effect operation particularly for our automative manufactures who have very integrated supply chain, and they largely under export contracts to the rest of the world this kind of distribution put all those contracts at risk and certainly South Africa has become less favoured from employer and employee conflict, so companies who would be otherwise considering locating their operation to South Africa have second thoughts about doing so." A crisis may have been averted in Durban. But foreign investors will be looking closely at South Africa in the coming weeks. Mining companies may struggle to find alternative locations - but motor manufacturers may not . Sonia Legg, Reuters.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Toyota strike complicates South Africa's crisis

Thursday, October 04, 2012 - 01:58

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, Jul 03, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)