Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Video

DUPLICATE-DO NOT PUBLISH

Wednesday, October 10, 2012 - 01:45

Oct.10 - A major recall of vehicles around the globe on malfunctioning window switches could further depress declining sales the company faces in China. Tara Joseph reports

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

A big headache for one of the world's big automakers. Toyota recalling 7.4 million models around the world due to malfunctioning window switches. Cars affected include some of Toyota's most popular models - Vios, Corolla and Yaris. The biggest number of recalls will be in the key U.S. market - More than a million in Europe. But 1.4 million vehicles recalled in China - the world's fastest growing car market. But Paul Newton says the risk is more theoretical than dangerous: (SOUNDBITE) (English) AUTO ANALYST, IHS GLOBAL INSIGHT, PAUL NEWTON, SAYING: "This really is quite minor in terms of... the risk is theoretical, it affects an awful lot of vehicles, but nobody has been hurt and there is no reported incidents of fires or anything else." The news is double trouble for Toyota, now struggling in China on the back of rising political tensions with Japan. Toyota sales in China nearly halved in September while other foreign carmakers such as BMW gained traction. China accounts for over ten percent of Toyota's sales. (SOUNDBITE) (English) AUTO ANALYST, IHS GLOBAL INSIGHT, PAUL NEWTON, SAYING: "The spat between China and Japan is really quite serious and we're actually working on our next forecast, with a view to Chinese sales of the Japanese automakers really seriously down from where we thought they would be because of this." After an excellent start to the year the company's share price has wobbled in the past 6 months. With its quality control called further into question Toyota could face a further sad tune in China and beyond. ENDS

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

DUPLICATE-DO NOT PUBLISH

Wednesday, October 10, 2012 - 01:45

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, Jul 03, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)