Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Most Popular

Obama, Romney speak at charity dinner

Friday, Oct 19, 2012 - 02:39

Oct. 19 - Obama and Romney trade jokes at the annual Alfred E. Smith Memorial Foundation Dinner. Julie Noce reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

U.S. President Barack Obama and Republican presidential nominee Mitt Romney attended a charity dinner in New York Thursday night. Each took turns poking fun at themselves.. and each other. (SOUNDBITE) (ENGLISH) REPUBLICAN PRESIDENTIAL NOMINEE MITT ROMNEY SAYING: "Now Al you are right a campaign can require alot of wardrobe changes. Blue jeans in the morning perhaps, suits for a lunch fundraiser, sport coats for dinner but it's nice to finally relax and wear what Anne and I wear around the house." (SOUNDBITE) (ENGLISH) REPUBLICAN PRESIDENTIAL NOMINEE MITT ROMNEY SAYING: "People seem to be very curious as to how we prepare for the debates. Let me tell you what I do. First, refrain from alcohol for 65 years before the debate. Secondly, find the biggest available straw man and then mercilessly attack it -- Big Bird didn't even see it coming. (SOUNDBITE) (ENGLISH) REPUBLICAN PRESIDENTIAL NOMINEE MITT ROMNEY SAYING: "Campaigns can be grueling, exhausting. President Obama and I are each very lucky to have one person in our corner -- someone who we can lean on and someone who is a comforting presence without whom we wouldn't be able to go another day. I have my beautiful wife Ann. He has Bill Clinton." (SOUNDBITE) (ENGLISH) U.S. PRESIDENT BARACK OBAMA SAYING: "This is the third time Governor Romney and I have met recently. As some of you may have noticed I had alot more energy in our second debate. I felt really rested after the nice long nap I had in the first debate." (SOUNDBITE) (ENGLISH) U.S. PRESIDENT BARACK OBAMA SAYING: "Of course, the economy is on everyone's minds. The unemployment level is at it's lowest since I've taken office. I don't have a joke here, just thought itd be useful to remind everyone ... the unemployment rate is the lowest it's ever been." (SOUNDBITE) (ENGLISH) U.S. PRESIDENT BARACK OBAMA SAYING: "Ultimately tonight is not about the disagreements Governor Romney and I may have. It's what we have in common beginning with our unusual names. Actually Mitt is his middle name. I wish I could use my middle name." The annual Alfred E. Smith Memorial Foundation Dinner is a who's who for New York's high society and gives sitting presidents or presidential hopefuls a chance to test their comedic skills.

Obama, Romney speak at charity dinner

Friday, Oct 19, 2012 - 02:39

Money »

S&P 500 closes at new high S&P 500 closes at new high

4:55pm EDT - (1:24)

S&P 500 just shy of record S&P 500 just shy of record

Wed, Aug 20, 2014 - (2:23)

Apple hits $100 a share Apple hits $100 a share

Tue, Aug 19, 2014 - (2:06)

Nasdaq closes at 14-year high Nasdaq closes at 14-year high

Mon, Aug 18, 2014 - (2:23)

Putin puts Wall Street in buying mood Putin puts Wall Street in buying mood

Thu, Aug 14, 2014 - (2:10)

We've become a promotional culture-RetailMeNot's Bodge We've become a promotional...

Thu, Aug 14, 2014 - (4:39)

Dow back to positive territory for year Dow back to positive territory for year

Wed, Aug 13, 2014 - (2:18)

Markets cheer Russia's Ukraine exit Markets cheer Russia's Ukraine exit

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (1:50)

Russia, Iraq push Dow to three-month low Russia, Iraq push Dow to three-month low

Thu, Aug 07, 2014 - (2:27)

Wall Street gains but telecom disconnected Wall Street gains but telecom disconnected

Wed, Aug 06, 2014 - (2:28)

Stocks zapped by energy weakness Stocks zapped by energy weakness

Tue, Aug 05, 2014 - (2:46)

The Exchange »

The Exchange: Hot commodity The Exchange: Hot commodity

Wed, Jul 16, 2014 - (9:25)

The Exchange: Constitutional crusade The Exchange: Constitutional crusade

Wed, Jun 25, 2014 - (11:35)

The Exchange: The value of money The Exchange: The value of money

Mon, Jun 02, 2014 - (9:53)

The Exchange: China’s Second Continent The Exchange: China’s Second Continent

Tue, May 27, 2014 - (9:35)

The Exchange: A master of business arts The Exchange: A master of business arts

Thu, May 08, 2014 - (8:24)

The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities

Mon, May 05, 2014 - (8:52)

The Exchange: Let the rocking commence The Exchange: Let the rocking commence

Tue, Apr 08, 2014 - (8:13)

The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies

Mon, Mar 24, 2014 - (9:54)

Is doing good a good business? Is doing good a good business?

Mon, Mar 17, 2014 - (7:38)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals

Fri, Jun 06, 2014 - (1:08)

VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light

Fri, May 30, 2014 - (1:37)

The week that changed Boston The week that changed Boston

Mon, Apr 14, 2014 - (3:28)