Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Africa

Clues to pain relief found in deadly snake venom

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2012 - 02:15

Oct. 31 - French scientists say the venom of the Black Mamba, one of the world's deadliest natural poisons, could hold the secret to new forms of pain relief. Jim Drury reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

The black mamba is one of nature's deadliest creatures, with venom that can kill an adult human within an hour. In captivity, snake handlers like Henko van Rensburg, must milk them regularly... or risk a fatal bite. SOUNDBITE (English) SNAKE HANDLER, HENKO VAN RENSBURG, SAYING: "The Black Mamba has a neurotoxin venom, that means it paralyses you, it literally takes your nervous system and it shuts it down completely. It has the fastest acting venom of any snake in the world, and it has the most of any African snake." But deadly though it is, French scientists believe the snake's poison might also hold the key to new forms of pain relief. Anne Baron led a French National Research Council team curious about the venom's chemistry. What they found surprised them. SOUNDBITE (French) RESEARCHER, ANNE BARON, SAYING: "In Mamba venom, we were surprised to identify two small proteins -- Mambalgines -- that can reduce the electrical activity of some ion channels that are found in neurones that transmit pain information." Removing the venom's potent toxins, the team isolated the purified proteins and used them in experiments, first with frog cells in a petri dish, then on human cells. Finally the mambalgines were tested on living mice. SOUNDBITE (French) RESEARCHER, ANNE BARON, SAYING: "When we injected the mambalgines into mice, we were pleased to see they could reduce pain in as powerful a manner as morphine." Baron says the secret lies in the way mambalgines interact with human nerves, affecting the transmission of pain signals. According to institute director Eric Lingueglia, the proteins could potentially treat conditions currently resistant to existing drugs. SOUNDBITE (French) INSTITUTE DIRECTOR ERIC LINGUEGLIA SAYING: "Some cancerous pains or some types of pain linked to the nervous system are not responsive to morphine treatment. So any new molecules that have novel mechanisms will be interesting tools to try and treat pains that are resistant to opiates." At Johannesburg's Crocodile and Reptile Park, Henko van Rensburg handles the black mamba with great care. While he's aware that it's venom may well lead to a new generation of powerful pain-killers, he says for now, the snake's poisonous reputation cannot be underestimated.

Clues to pain relief found in deadly snake venom

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2012 - 02:15

Top News »

Money »

S&P falls back from record high S&P falls back from record high

5:35pm EDT - (1:35)

S&P 500 closes at new high S&P 500 closes at new high

Thu, Aug 21, 2014 - (1:24)

S&P 500 just shy of record S&P 500 just shy of record

Wed, Aug 20, 2014 - (2:23)

Apple hits $100 a share Apple hits $100 a share

Tue, Aug 19, 2014 - (2:06)

Nasdaq closes at 14-year high Nasdaq closes at 14-year high

Mon, Aug 18, 2014 - (2:23)

Putin puts Wall Street in buying mood Putin puts Wall Street in buying mood

Thu, Aug 14, 2014 - (2:10)

We've become a promotional culture-RetailMeNot's Bodge We've become a promotional...

Thu, Aug 14, 2014 - (4:39)

Dow back to positive territory for year Dow back to positive territory for year

Wed, Aug 13, 2014 - (2:18)

Markets cheer Russia's Ukraine exit Markets cheer Russia's Ukraine exit

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (1:50)

Russia, Iraq push Dow to three-month low Russia, Iraq push Dow to three-month low

Thu, Aug 07, 2014 - (2:27)

Wall Street gains but telecom disconnected Wall Street gains but telecom disconnected

Wed, Aug 06, 2014 - (2:28)

The Exchange »

The Exchange: Hot commodity The Exchange: Hot commodity

Wed, Jul 16, 2014 - (9:25)

The Exchange: Constitutional crusade The Exchange: Constitutional crusade

Wed, Jun 25, 2014 - (11:35)

The Exchange: The value of money The Exchange: The value of money

Mon, Jun 02, 2014 - (9:53)

The Exchange: China’s Second Continent The Exchange: China’s Second Continent

Tue, May 27, 2014 - (9:35)

The Exchange: A master of business arts The Exchange: A master of business arts

Thu, May 08, 2014 - (8:24)

The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities

Mon, May 05, 2014 - (8:52)

The Exchange: Let the rocking commence The Exchange: Let the rocking commence

Tue, Apr 08, 2014 - (8:13)

The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies

Mon, Mar 24, 2014 - (9:54)

Is doing good a good business? Is doing good a good business?

Mon, Mar 17, 2014 - (7:38)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals

Fri, Jun 06, 2014 - (1:08)

VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light

Fri, May 30, 2014 - (1:37)

The week that changed Boston The week that changed Boston

Mon, Apr 14, 2014 - (3:28)