Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Most Popular

World's biggest telescope to seek origins of the universe

Monday, Nov 05, 2012 - 02:05

Nov. 5 - Scientists in Chile are eagerly awaiting the opening of the world's most sophisticated telescope next year, which they say will reveal answers to many questions about the origins of the universe. Sitting atop a wind-swept plateau in northern Chile, the $1.3 billion ALMA observatory promises to probe deeper into space than any other telescope. Ben Gruber reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

TV AND WEB RESTRICTIONS**PART MUST COURTESY JOSE FRANCISCO SALGADO**~ Shot at high-speed, a group of precision antennas coordinate in a kind of high-tech ballet. But here, at five-thousand metres above sea level in Chile's Atacama Desert, the antennas are being prepared for work. They comprise a groundbreaking new telescope that scientists hope will answer some of the universe's greatest mysteries. Called the Atacama Large Millimeter Array, or ALMA, the observatory will be the world's largest, capable of probing deeper into space than any other instrument. It will allow astronomers to study wavelengths invisible to the human eye, according to ALMA's Violette Impellizzeri. (SOUNDBITE) (English) ASTRONOMER, VIOLETTE IMPELLIZZERI, SAYING: "For people who don't know about ALMA, it's nice to think of it as a telescope that can see in the dark, where optical telescopes cannot see because they are covered by dust or they are hidden, ALMA can see through it and so this is what makes it special. It's not just more sensitive and bigger and faster. It actually sees through things that are not visible to our eye or even to bigger, optical telescopes." When functioning at full capacity, the telescope will produce images up to ten times sharper than NASA's Hubble Space Telescope. It will study light from the coldest and darkest corners of the universe, where galaxies are formed and stars are born. ALMA engineer, David Rabanus. (SOUNDBITE) (English) ALMA ENGINEER, DAVID RABANUS, SAYING: "In these receivers we detect radiation from space, so we basically convert it into an electric signal in order to make it measurable for us so that we can quantify it." The high altitude and clear, cloudless skies of the Atatacam desert provide the idela conditons for observation. ALMA's astronomers are excited by the possibilities. (SOUNDBITE) (English) ASTRONOMER, VIOLETTE IMPELLIZZERI, SAYING: "The expectation everyone has at large is to find the origin of things. And I think ALMA will really contribute, I'm sure of it. " With 43 of the 66 antennas already in place, the serious business of scientific star-gazing is due to being next year.

World's biggest telescope to seek origins of the universe

Monday, Nov 05, 2012 - 02:05

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)