Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Business

Stocks fall off the fiscal cliff

Wednesday, November 07, 2012 - 01:56

Nov. 07 - Summary of business headlines: The Dow drops 313 points as investors turn their attention from the election to impending tax increases and spending cuts, Apple shares down 20% since high; Nor'easter causes more misery for Sandy victims. Carmen Roberts reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

PLEASE NOTE: THIS EDIT CONTAINS CONVERTED 4:3 MATERIAL A post election sell-off pushes the S&P 500 to its worst decline since June. U.S. stocks dropped two percent, as investors turned their attention from the Presidential election back to Europe's recession and America's looming fiscal cliff of tax increases and spending cuts. Thomas Lee is a strategist for JP Morgan Chase. TOM LEE, STRATEGIST, JP MORGAN CHASE & CO. (ENGLISH) SAYING: "When we think about the fiscal cliff there's a lot at stake, because of the size of the fiscal adjustment and how it would affect the U.S. economy. In theory, the full brunt of it would put us back into recession." Brian Belski, chief investment strategist at BMO Capital Markets, says President Obama was clear in his victory speech -he wants to work with Republicans to fix the issue. BRIAN BELSKI, CHIEF INVESTMENT STRATEGIST, BMO CAPITAL MARKETS (ENGLISH) SAYING: "I think the market is kind of telling you some doubting right now. But again, we'll see over the next few months whether we can see a little bit more aggressiveness with playing in the sandbox together." Investors are also doubting Apple. The company is struggling to make enough iPhone 5s to meet demand. Shares have lost 20 percent since touching a record high of $705 in September. More weather troubles in the same area devastated by Hurricane Sandy last week. A Nor'easter brought snow and gusting winds to families and businesses in the Mid-Atlantic struggling to deal with Sandy's destruction. One of those businesses, Macy's, says Sandy negatively impacted its November sales and it will miss Wall Street's fourth-quarter profit estimates. Investor concern was amplified as protests over new Greek austerity measures turned violent and the European Commission said the euro zone economy will barely grow next year. That bleak forecast helped push European stocks sharply lower.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Stocks fall off the fiscal cliff

Wednesday, November 07, 2012 - 01:56

Top News »

Most Popular »

Investing 201 »

Bond investors brace for the end of Fed stimulus Bond investors brace for the end of Fed...

Fri, Oct 10, 2014 - (4:03)

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

Money Clip »

Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments? Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments?

Thu, Oct 16, 2014 - (2:45)

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, Oct 20, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Wed, Oct 01, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)