Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Video

Stocks slide on Obama, Mideast

Wednesday, November 14, 2012 - 02:13

Nov. 14 - Summary of business headlines: Wall Street tumbles as investors worry about a prolonged fiscal cliff battle and as violence erupts in the Middle East; Federal Reserve says quantitative easing working, but prepared to do more next year; Facebook, Abercrombie & Fitch shares buck market downturn. Conway G. Gittens reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Wall Street had its biggest fall in a week due in President Obama, who remains firm on plans to raise taxes for the wealthy. Violence in the Middle East added to market jitters - sending stocks down more than 1 percent. In his first question and answer period with the press since winning the election, President Obama said letting tax cuts for the wealthy expire is part of his plan and just curbing tax breaks is not enough to pay down the debt, setting the stage for tough negotiations in preventing the fiscal cliff. SOUNDBITE: U.S. PRESIDENT BARACK OBAMA (ENGLISH) SAYING: "It really is arithmetic. It's not calculus. There are some tough things that have to be done. But there is a way of doing this that does not hurt middle class families, that does not hurt our seniors, doesn't hurt families with disabled kids, allows us to continue to invest in things that allow us to grow like basic research and education." He also warned the combination of mandatory spending cuts and tax hikes will hurt all parts of the economy and send the U.S. back into recession, as he prepared to discuss the issue with business leaders. The Federal Reserve is still worried about the economy. So much so, that a number of policymakers debated whether the Fed will have to buy even more debt next year when a current asset buying program ends. Minutes from the Fed's October meeting also reveal the group believes it's third round of quantitative easing, referred to as QE3, is helping to soothe the economy's ills. But new data may bring new concerns. Retail sales fell in October, the first monthly decline in three months. There were a number of stand-out stocks in an otherwise terrible market. Facebook shares jumped 12.6 percent as a lock on insider selling expired without much insider selling. And teen retailer Abercrombie and Fitch surged over 34 percent thanks to better-than-expected quarterly results and a stronger full-year outlook. In Europe, rubber bullets were fired on protesters in Barcelona in the latest anti-austerity demonstration. Stocks were down across the board.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Stocks slide on Obama, Mideast

Wednesday, November 14, 2012 - 02:13

Top News »

Retirement »

Back to work- in retirement Back to work- in retirement

Wed, Oct 15, 2014 - (2:09)

Investing 201 »

Bond investors brace for the end of Fed stimulus Bond investors brace for the end of Fed...

Fri, Oct 10, 2014 - (4:03)

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

Money Clip »

Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments? Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments?

Thu, Oct 16, 2014 - (2:45)

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, Oct 20, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Wed, Oct 01, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)