Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

9/11

Mideast rest gives Wall St. bounce

Wednesday, November 21, 2012 - 01:50

Nov 21 - Summary of business headlines: Middle East ceasefire calms Wall Street; Hostess liquidates; Manufacturing hits new five-month high; Jobless claims rise; Consumer sentiment flat; Investors get ready for Black Friday. Conway G. Gittens reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

The broader market is up four days in a row as a cease fire in the Middle East puts a jittery market at ease. Gains were modest ahead of the Thanksgiving holiday, but just enough for the S&P 500 to enjoy its first four-day rally since early early October. Hostess, the company behind Twinkies and other snacks, given the green light to liquidate. The company will begin letting go of most of its more than 18,000 employees after last-ditch negotiations failed. There were a few reasons for tempered optimism. A private measure of manufacturing activity hit a five-month high in November, which could give economic growth in the fourth quarter a boost. Jobless claims were up last week but down from the big jump the week before. The impact of super storm Sandy is making it hard to see if the labor market is indeed slowing down again. Meanwhile, consumer sentiment was flat in November after months of improvement as concerns about the fiscal cliff start to creep in. So with Black Friday finally here, Thomson Reuters Director of Consumer Research Jharrone Martis gives a clue on what to expect. SOUNDBITE: JHARONNE MARTIS, DIRECTOR OF CONSUMER RESEARCH, THOMSON REUTERS (ENGLISH) SAYING: "In the beginning of October estimates for the holiday season were only 1.5 percent and now that has gone up to 1.9 percent. And we still have to go through Black Friday and analysts are very optimistic about. They think we are going to see 3.3 percent growth, which was in-line with what we saw last year 3.5. But 3 percent reflects a healthy U.S. consumer spending." Taking a look at shares of key retail players: Wal-Mart, with its controversial plan to kick-off sales on the Thanksgiving holiday, slipped but Target and online rival Amazon.com both finished higher. In Europe, stocks posted small gains as investors still hold out hope European leaders can find help for debt-laden Greece.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Mideast rest gives Wall St. bounce

Wednesday, November 21, 2012 - 01:50

Top News »

Most Popular »

Investing 201 »

Bond investors brace for the end of Fed stimulus Bond investors brace for the end of Fed...

Fri, Oct 10, 2014 - (4:03)

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

Money Clip »

Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments? Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments?

Thu, Oct 16, 2014 - (2:45)

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, Oct 20, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Wed, Oct 01, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)