Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Lifestyle

Egypt celebrates 90th anniversary of Tutankhamun discovery

Friday, November 23, 2012 - 01:36

Nov. 23 - Descendants of the Egyptologist who discovered the tomb of the young pharaoh Tutankhamun join celebrations marking the 90th anniversary of its discovery. Sunita Rappai reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

It was one of the greatest archaeological discoveries of the 20th century - perhaps of all time. Ninety years ago this week, British Egyptologists Howard Carter and Lord Carnarvon discovered the tomb of the boy king, Tutankhamun, in Egypt's Valley of the Kings - which had lain undisturbed for more than 3000 years. Inside the remarkably well-preserved tomb was an abundance of gold and fineries left with the 19-year-old after his death and mummification. On Thursday, Carnarvon's great grandson - the current Lord Carnarvon - was among those attending a celebration event at Carter's old house in Luxor, now a museum. (SOUNDBITE) (English) GREAT-GRANDSON OF THE 5TH EARL OF CARNARVON, LORD CARNARVON 8TH EARL OF CARNARVON, SAYING: "When my great-grandfather and Howard Carter actually broke through the outer sealed door with Tutankhamun's cartouche and crest on it and when they first saw into the ante-chamber of the tomb. This amazing archaeological discovery that has never been surpassed.'' Egyptian authorities also marked the anniversary by reopening the tomb of Merinbetah - previously closed for six years of restoration. Tourism chief Hisham Zaazou said the government was determined to support more events to boost tourism, which has declined sharply since the revolution. (SOUNDBITE) (English) EGYPT'S MINISTER OF TOURISM, HISHAM ZAAZOU, SAYING: ''We will continue to have an agenda, a touristic agenda, throughout the coming weeks and months for these parts to help boost the interest and the demand once again to.'' Despite the Tutankhamun anniversary and it being peak season, Luxor, traditionally a prime tourist hub, is currently only at about 27 percent of its tourist capacity.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Egypt celebrates 90th anniversary of Tutankhamun discovery

Friday, November 23, 2012 - 01:36

Top News »

Most Popular »

Investing 201 »

Bond investors brace for the end of Fed stimulus Bond investors brace for the end of Fed...

Fri, Oct 10, 2014 - (4:03)

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

Money Clip »

Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments? Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments?

Thu, Oct 16, 2014 - (2:45)

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, Oct 20, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Wed, Oct 01, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)