Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Spain

Catalan vote represents willingness to succeed

Monday, November 26, 2012 - 01:30

Nov. 26 - Residents in Spain's Catalonia vote in favor of independence but fall short on which party will lead the charge. Julie Noce reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Voters in Spain's Catalonia region voiced their desire to separate from the rest of the country during regional elections Sunday, but remain disunited about which political party is going to lead the split. Various separatist parties gained seats in the local parliament, but no one party gained enough for a two thirds majority that would have allowed for a swift referendum on independence. Artur Mas, the winning candidate for the right of center separatist party CiU said now all Catalan parties will need to work together towards their shared goal of statehood. (SOUNDBITE) (Catalan) ARTUR MAS, CONVERGENCE AND UNION LEADER, SAYING: "People have spoken. We submit ourselves to the verdict of the ballot box. This is the will of the people of Catalonia. We accept it as well as we accept the consequences of the result. It means we will be the leaders of this new government, but we will need another force or other forces to take responsibility as well. They will also have to read these results in the right way as their responsibilities will be more than what they had so far." Catalans, who speak their own language and have an economy roughly as big as Portugal, see themselves as distinct from the rest of Spain. Still, historical and deep seeded disagreements within the Catalan political parties has so far prevented the region from presenting a unanimous front to the federal government in Madrid. With Spain in the midst of a recession expected to last through 2013, Prime Minister Mariano Rajoy is already struggling with a record 25 percent unemployment and massive street demonstrations against his austerity measures.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Catalan vote represents willingness to succeed

Monday, November 26, 2012 - 01:30

Top News »

Retirement »

Back to work- in retirement Back to work- in retirement

Wed, Oct 15, 2014 - (2:09)

Investing 201 »

Bond investors brace for the end of Fed stimulus Bond investors brace for the end of Fed...

Fri, Oct 10, 2014 - (4:03)

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

Money Clip »

Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments? Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments?

Thu, Oct 16, 2014 - (2:45)

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, Oct 20, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Wed, Oct 01, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)