Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Most Popular

E-tailers and Big-boxes fight online

Monday, Nov 26, 2012 - 02:11

Nov. 26 - E-tailers are doing what they can to fight back against traditional brick and mortar stores which are stepping up the online competition this holiday season. Sasha Salama reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Online sales topped $1 billion for the first time ever on Black Friday. According to comScore, traditional brick and mortar stores are nipping at the heels of the online retailers. Amazon.com was the most-visited retail website on Black Friday. But Wal-Mart's website was second, followed by Best Buy's and Target's. Experts say a big source of online shopping growth for all retailers this holiday season comes from the growing use of smart phones and tablets. Patti Freeman Evans of Forrester Research: . SOUNDBITE: PATTI FREEMAN EVANS, VP AND RESEARCH DIRECTOR, FORRESTER RESEARCH (ENGLISH) SAYING: "Retailers, particularly, need to be really agile, really quick to adjust to that customer who's interacting with them on their phone, in a kiosk, online, through their laptop, in the store. So this is the new world we're in and if you don't adjust, you'll get left behind." REPORTER STANDUP: SASHA SALAMA, REUTERS (ENGLISH) SAYING: "In this new world, analysts say a growing number of consumers are checking prices first in-store then on their mobile gadget. If the online price is lower, the store will sometimes match it just so that customer doesn't walk out the door." Meanwhile, some brick and mortar stores are stepping up their use of the web to better compete. Wal-Mart, for one, developed its own technology this year to monitor competitors' prices online. Even though e-commerce accounts for less than 10 percent of all consumer spending in the U.S., it is growing much faster than brick and mortar retail. And for e-tailers like Blue Nile, which sells diamonds and jewelry online, Cyber Monday is still key. Harvey Kanter is CEO of Blue Nile. SOUNDBITE: BLUE NILE CEO HARVEY KANTER (ENGLISH) SAYING: "On this particular day, we try to do a couple things. One, we try to continue to make sure the consumer becomes more and more comfortable with the value model that we bring to market. We are so efficient, that we continue to offer 20-40% below traditional jewelry stores." At the end of the day, those lower prices could be crucial to what Forrester forecasts will be 15 percent online sales growth this holiday season.

E-tailers and Big-boxes fight online

Monday, Nov 26, 2012 - 02:11

Money »

S&P 500 just shy of record S&P 500 just shy of record

Wed, Aug 20, 2014 - (2:23)

Apple hits $100 a share Apple hits $100 a share

Tue, Aug 19, 2014 - (2:06)

Nasdaq closes at 14-year high Nasdaq closes at 14-year high

Mon, Aug 18, 2014 - (2:23)

Putin puts Wall Street in buying mood Putin puts Wall Street in buying mood

Thu, Aug 14, 2014 - (2:10)

We've become a promotional culture-RetailMeNot's Bodge We've become a promotional...

Thu, Aug 14, 2014 - (4:39)

Dow back to positive territory for year Dow back to positive territory for year

Wed, Aug 13, 2014 - (2:18)

Markets cheer Russia's Ukraine exit Markets cheer Russia's Ukraine exit

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (1:50)

Russia, Iraq push Dow to three-month low Russia, Iraq push Dow to three-month low

Thu, Aug 07, 2014 - (2:27)

Wall Street gains but telecom disconnected Wall Street gains but telecom disconnected

Wed, Aug 06, 2014 - (2:28)

Stocks zapped by energy weakness Stocks zapped by energy weakness

Tue, Aug 05, 2014 - (2:46)

Stocks recover with refocus on earnings Stocks recover with refocus on earnings

Mon, Aug 04, 2014 - (2:19)

The Exchange »

The Exchange: Hot commodity The Exchange: Hot commodity

Wed, Jul 16, 2014 - (9:25)

The Exchange: Constitutional crusade The Exchange: Constitutional crusade

Wed, Jun 25, 2014 - (11:35)

The Exchange: The value of money The Exchange: The value of money

Mon, Jun 02, 2014 - (9:53)

The Exchange: China’s Second Continent The Exchange: China’s Second Continent

Tue, May 27, 2014 - (9:35)

The Exchange: A master of business arts The Exchange: A master of business arts

Thu, May 08, 2014 - (8:24)

The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities

Mon, May 05, 2014 - (8:52)

The Exchange: Let the rocking commence The Exchange: Let the rocking commence

Tue, Apr 08, 2014 - (8:13)

The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies

Mon, Mar 24, 2014 - (9:54)

Is doing good a good business? Is doing good a good business?

Mon, Mar 17, 2014 - (7:38)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals

Fri, Jun 06, 2014 - (1:08)

VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light

Fri, May 30, 2014 - (1:37)

The week that changed Boston The week that changed Boston

Mon, Apr 14, 2014 - (3:28)