Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Entertainment

Jessica Chastain: Zero Dark Thirty is not what you think

Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 - 01:52

Dec. 4 - The stars and director of the new film about the killing of Osama bin Laden talk about their new movie. Alicia Powell reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

The events surrounding the killing of al Qaeda leader Osama bin Laden gets a Hollywood twist in the new film "Zero Dark Thirty". Directed by Kathryn Bigelow it reconstructs the ten year manhunt for bin Laden through the eyes of a young CIA agent, Maya, portrayed by Jessica Chastain. The actress wasn't able to meet the person her character is based on because she is an active member of the CIA, so she relied on screenwriter Mark Boal. SOUNDBITE: Jessica Chastain, actress, saying (English): "Our screenwriter started as an investigative journalist, so a lot of research came from him - I actually nicknamed him 'The Professor'. Any question I had, and I had a lot of questions, he answered. I was also able to speak to some people who do things like that, who helped me a lot and I read a lot of books." Bigelow says telling the story from Maya's point of view was the best way to convey the message. SOUNDBITE: Kathryn Bigelow, director, saying (English): "It was what the reporting bore out. I mean there were several women and men pivotal to this hunt. And then realizing that it would be probably the best way to tell the story would be through the eyes of this individual and then put the audience in her position. You know, she's kind of the boots on the ground so-to-speak." The film opens with Australian actor Jason Clarke in a grueling interrogation session with a detainee. In the scene he uses techniques including water boarding and sleep deprivation to gain information. SOUNDBITE: Jason Clarke, actor, saying (English): "The fact that it's such a strong visceral thing to take you into it, I think, you know, it's fantastic. It draws you straight into the world of this film." Although most people will go into this film knowing how it ends, Chastain says the movie still has its surprises. SOUNDBITE: Jessica Chastain, actress, saying (English): "We all think we know what this movie is about, which is - I mean, we're so wrong. I was so wrong when I read the script, starting at page five I realized this is not what I thought really happened. It's fantastic because it really is, it's a scoop. I think it's the perfect, what do you call it, like water-cooler film." "Zero Dark Thirty" opens in New York and Los Angeles on December 19th, with a wider release on January 11th.

Jessica Chastain: Zero Dark Thirty is not what you think

Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 - 01:52

Top News »

Money »

S&P falls back from record high S&P falls back from record high

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (1:35)

S&P 500 closes at new high S&P 500 closes at new high

Thu, Aug 21, 2014 - (1:24)

S&P 500 just shy of record S&P 500 just shy of record

Wed, Aug 20, 2014 - (2:23)

Apple hits $100 a share Apple hits $100 a share

Tue, Aug 19, 2014 - (2:06)

Nasdaq closes at 14-year high Nasdaq closes at 14-year high

Mon, Aug 18, 2014 - (2:23)

Putin puts Wall Street in buying mood Putin puts Wall Street in buying mood

Thu, Aug 14, 2014 - (2:10)

We've become a promotional culture-RetailMeNot's Bodge We've become a promotional...

Thu, Aug 14, 2014 - (4:39)

Dow back to positive territory for year Dow back to positive territory for year

Wed, Aug 13, 2014 - (2:18)

Markets cheer Russia's Ukraine exit Markets cheer Russia's Ukraine exit

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (1:50)

Russia, Iraq push Dow to three-month low Russia, Iraq push Dow to three-month low

Thu, Aug 07, 2014 - (2:27)

Wall Street gains but telecom disconnected Wall Street gains but telecom disconnected

Wed, Aug 06, 2014 - (2:28)

The Exchange »

The Exchange: Hot commodity The Exchange: Hot commodity

Wed, Jul 16, 2014 - (9:25)

The Exchange: Constitutional crusade The Exchange: Constitutional crusade

Wed, Jun 25, 2014 - (11:35)

The Exchange: The value of money The Exchange: The value of money

Mon, Jun 02, 2014 - (9:53)

The Exchange: China’s Second Continent The Exchange: China’s Second Continent

Tue, May 27, 2014 - (9:35)

The Exchange: A master of business arts The Exchange: A master of business arts

Thu, May 08, 2014 - (8:24)

The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities

Mon, May 05, 2014 - (8:52)

The Exchange: Let the rocking commence The Exchange: Let the rocking commence

Tue, Apr 08, 2014 - (8:13)

The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies

Mon, Mar 24, 2014 - (9:54)

Is doing good a good business? Is doing good a good business?

Mon, Mar 17, 2014 - (7:38)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals

Fri, Jun 06, 2014 - (1:08)

VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light

Fri, May 30, 2014 - (1:37)

The week that changed Boston The week that changed Boston

Mon, Apr 14, 2014 - (3:28)