Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Business

Thanksgiving, the new Black Friday

Wednesday, Dec 05, 2012 - 01:47

Dec. 5 - A new Reuters/Ipsos poll showed just over 30 percent of American adults shopped online and in stores this past Thanksgiving- slightly more than shopped on Black Friday, the once traditional start to the holiday shopping season. Bobbi Rebell reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Americans said thank you to stores that opened on Thanksgiving. According to a Reuters/Ipsos poll more than 30 percent of Americans said they shopped on Thanksgiving day- even more than the 28 percent who shopped on Black Friday. And of those who shopped- it was the first time for nearly one-third of the respondents-- A sign moving sales events earlier in the weekend worked. Clementine Martin Illanes is a retail strategist at consulting firm Kurt Salmon: SOUNDBITE: CLEMENTINE MARTIN ILLANES, RETAIL STRATEGIST AT CONSULTING FIRM KURT SALMON: "It's starting to take some of the focus off of Black Friday and Cyber Monday that now it's truly the weekend. I talked to a lot of friends who said they didn't even really notice which day it was. They were just going out and shopping and looking online to see what great things that they could buy and doing it whenever they felt like they found the right thing to purchase." REPORTER BRIDGE: BOBBI REBELL, REUTERS REPORTER (ENGLISH) SAYING: It also came down to convenience for some people- why fight the crowds in the middle of the night, when they could just come out after dinner, even with their kids, and make it an evening out. Shoppers still watched their pennies. 38 percent spent less than they had budgeted- and only 15 percent went over budget. The poll also had some telling findings about the product choices people made: Thomson Reuters News Editor, Maurice Tamman: SOUNDBITE: MAURICE TAMMAN, NEWS EDITOR, THOMSON REUTERS (ENGLISH) SAYING: "Among those people who were buying tablets for example, 32 percent of them said they were going to be cutting back on toys so that they could buy tablets. Now I don't know for sure, but I suspect what that is is that we are starting to see tablets move from being an adult product primarily where the children borrow it when they have permission to being a product that is purchased specifically for the children themselves." As for where they are shopping- Department stores were the top destination on Black Friday- followed by discount chains.

Thanksgiving, the new Black Friday

Wednesday, Dec 05, 2012 - 01:47

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

Dateline Asia »

Sterling jumps, on Scottish vote Sterling jumps, on Scottish vote

Thu, Sep 18, 2014 - (2:56)

Rare rock on the block in Hong Kong Rare rock on the block in Hong Kong

Thu, Sep 18, 2014 - (1:43)

Alibaba IPO is 'overhyped': Mark Mobius Alibaba IPO is 'overhyped': Mark Mobius

Thu, Sep 18, 2014 - (4:13)

China tech players chip away at Alibaba China tech players chip away at Alibaba

Wed, Sep 17, 2014 - (4:02)

Breakingviews: India hits Japan/China radar Breakingviews: India hits Japan/China radar

Tue, Sep 16, 2014 - (2:20)

Asia corporate sentiment is slipping Asia corporate sentiment is slipping

Tue, Sep 16, 2014 - (1:36)

Alibaba's China roadshow Alibaba's China roadshow

Mon, Sep 15, 2014 - (2:16)