Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

World News

Australian radio hosts "gutted" by nurse's death

Monday, December 10, 2012 - 01:35

Dec. 10 - Australian radio show host says learning of Saldanha's death was ''the worst phone call I've ever had in my life.'' Deborah Gembara reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

They've been quiet so far. Now, the Australian DJs whose prank phone call unleashed a horrific unimaginable sequence of events are speaking for the first time. 2Day show hosts Michael Christian and Mel Greig describe how they learned of nurse Jacintha Saldanha's death. SOUNDBITE: (English) Radio Host, 2Day Fm, Mel Greig, saying: "It's the worst phone call I've ever had in my life." SOUNDBITE: (English) Radio Host, 2Day Fm, Michael Christian, saying: "Our deepest sympathies are with the family and the friends of all those affected. And, you know, obviously Mel and myself are incredibly sorry for this situation and what's happened. (crying)" While the Internet backlash against the pair has been swift with some blaming them for the nurse's death, Londoners say the situation isn't that clear. (SOUNDBITE) (English) Bea Walker, saying: "I am sorry for them now. I think it's something they will have to live with for the rest of their lives." (SOUNDBITE) (English) Caroline Heart, saying: "Well, they are not wholly responsible, but they were not very sensible were they? They didn't think before they spoke...They are young, they've got a lot to learn." The situation has prompted discussions about the law and media standards, and lots of reflection. (SOUNDBITE) (English) Radio Host, 2Day FM, Mel Greig, saying: "There's not a minute that goes by that we don't think about her family and what they must be going through. And the thought that we may have played a part in that is...it's gut-wrenching."

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Australian radio hosts "gutted" by nurse's death

Monday, December 10, 2012 - 01:35

Top News »

Retirement »

Back to work- in retirement Back to work- in retirement

Wed, Oct 15, 2014 - (2:09)

Investing 201 »

Bond investors brace for the end of Fed stimulus Bond investors brace for the end of Fed...

Fri, Oct 10, 2014 - (4:03)

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

Money Clip »

Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments? Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments?

Thu, Oct 16, 2014 - (2:45)

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, Oct 20, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Wed, Oct 01, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)