Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

U.S. Morning Call: UBS fined $1.5 billion for Libor rigging

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2012 - 02:46

Dec. 19 - Swiss bank UBS admitted fraud and accepted a $1.5 billion fine for its role in manipulating global benchmark interest rates.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Did your morning call for Wednesday European regulators slapping UBS with a one point five billion dollar fine today. A global probe -- step the Swiss bank -- Libor rate in the US Europe and Asia. Isn't perspective the penalty is more than three times the 450. Million dollar fine Barkley had to -- in June for the same charge. And the second largest fine ever levied on a bank. Shares of UBS rose close to 2% to hit a seventeen month high in the premarket investors feeling assured the worst was over. UBS deal is likely to be followed by a slew of other settlements between big banks and regulators over the -- -- -- scandal. In earnings this morning we've got fed -- reporting just minutes ago. Revenue came in higher than expected but earnings per share came in below estimates the company saying earnings impacted by sandy. Forecast for capital spending for 2013 will remain the same and FedEx trading slightly lower in premarket. Also on our radar today hello pots and pans in towels yes we've got results from Bed, Bath & Beyond after the market close. Analysts polled by -- I'm looking for earnings per share one dollar inline with estimates. The patent wars continue to Rajon and what now seems like a hundred years war. Google's Motorola mobility battling out with the general Patton of patents apple. A US international trade commission judge ruling that Motorola's patent for -- sensor. Which -- spoke users from dialing wrong numbers is invalid. They win and for the iPhone maker. Oversees Google's getting a break the FTC delaying its decision in an antitrust probe and the tech giant ranks search results. Turning to the wider market US stock futures point to a slightly higher open still dancing to the speed of the fiscal cliff. Republicans are expected to vote on their tax bill in the house on Thursday but don't expect that -- passed in the democratic controlled senate. Which little something it's at this morning. The ratings agency warning the US will lose its triple its status if Washington doesn't get its act together -- Susan. On the macro front we've got data on housing starts today diet or -- construction of new homes to have dropped in November after three months of gains. That's it for Wednesday's morning cough follow us on Twitter at Reuters Insider and check out our ordered YouTube channel act Reuters dot com slash writers TV. I'm Lisa Bernhard this is --

U.S. Morning Call: UBS fined $1.5 billion for Libor rigging

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2012 - 02:46

Most Popular »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)