Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Business Travel

Whisky maker mixes drinking and driving

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 - 02:20

Dec.31 - Millions of people around the globe will toast the new year with a glass of one of Scotland's best exports but only one traditional whisky also provides fuel for your car. Ivor Bennett reports from the Scottish distillery, Tullibardine, which has gone into business with Celtic Renewables, part of Napier University, to convert its whisky leftovers into auto fuel.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Whisky and cars don't normally go together. But the term drink-driving now has a whole new meaning. Scottish scientists are converting whisky waste products into butanol... which soon could be powering cars. UPSOT: "when you malt the barley you're left with this draff..." Energy company Celtic Renewables is driving the initiative. It's using bacteria to ferment the unused barley and leftover liquid from the whisky production. The ingredients may be waste, but company founder Martin Tangney says the final product is invaluable. SOUNDBITE (English) CELTIC RENEWABLES FOUNDER, PROFESSOR MARTIN TANGNEY, SAYING, "What we put into the cars is biobutanol. This is a fuel that has been recognised over the last number of years as being a very powerful, direct like for like substitute for petrol. It has the same energy value. you can use the same existing infrastructure. you don't need to modify car engines. You can genuinely use it as a like for like replacement." Tullibardine's the only distillery involved at the moment. But plans to commercialise the process mean what began with 3 litres of butanol could hit 10 thousand within 3 years. Scotland produces over 1.8 billion bottles of whisky a year - but it's waste is a lot more than that. SOUNDBITE (English) REUTERS REPORTER IVOR BENNETT SAYING, "Over 90% of what comes out of a whisky distillery is in fact not whisky at all. It's waste. And most of it is this stuff - pot ale. It fills up stills like this and for every 1 litre of whisky produced, there are 8 litres of this. As for the barley, or draff - Tullibardine fills six lorry-loads a week. These waste products do have other uses - in low grade animal feed and fertiliser. But that comes at a hefty cost. Tullibardine spends a quarter of a million pounds year just on waste disposal. Distillery Manager David Simpson hopes the money will now flow back in. SOUNDBITE (English) TULLIBARDINE DISTILLERY MANAGER DAVID SIMPSON, SAYING, "It's not just for Tullibardine. obviously the whole industry would benefit from this and everyone is sort of looking at this with open eyes, hoping this will work for the whole industry which would reduce costs for everyone." Plans are brewing to export the technology to other whisky producers like India, Japan and North America. Celtic Renewables wants to use beer too, hoping to create a biofuel industry that could turnover 100 million pounds.

Whisky maker mixes drinking and driving

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 - 02:20

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)