Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

World News

Bolivia's Morales says Chavez legacy intact

Monday, Jan 14, 2013 - 01:38

Jan. 15 - Bolivian President Evo Morales rejects rumors of divisions amongst followers of ailing Venezuelan President Hugo Chavez. Sarah Sheffer reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

As Venezuelan President Hugo Chavez convalesces in Cuba after a fourth cancer surgery, rumours have spread about divisions amongst his followers at home. But Bolivian President Evo Morales, one of Chavez's leftist allies, rejected the rumours in an interview with Reuters. Chavez's absence at his January 10 inauguration has fuelled more speculation he will not be able to return to power. But Morales denied media rumours of rifts between Chavez's anointed successor Nicolas Maduro and long-time aide Diosdado Cabello. (SOUNDBITE) (Spanish) BOLIVIAN PRESIDENT EVO MORALES SAYING: "But I'm also worried for Chavez's health. Why do I say this? Because some Venezuelan and international media say the Venezuelan people are at odds. They say Maduro, Diosdado Cabello, the family, (are at odds), that there are three, four or five factions. But this is false." But Morales said he is confident his legacy will continue. (SOUNDBITE) (Spanish) BOLIVIAN PRESIDENT EVO MORALES SAYING: "Of course. Who wouldn't be upset by a historical leader who is having health problems? But I'm convinced that in Venezuela nothing is going to happen. The extreme right in the country and the empire can try, but there's unity with comrade Chavez and his revolution in Venezuela." Latest reports say Chavez's health is slowly improving after he suffered a lung infection while recovering from his most recent surgery.

Bolivia's Morales says Chavez legacy intact

Monday, Jan 14, 2013 - 01:38

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)