Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Finance Videos

Dreams on wheels at Detroit auto show

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2013 - 02:41

Jan. 15 - Car makers are appealing to egos and buyers desire for status to push a new wave of luxury cars at The North American International Auto show. Sharon Reich reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

The Continental GT Speed Convertible, which makes its debut at the Detroit auto show, is no exception. This car has it all. Sleek style and a 616 horsepower 12 cylinder engine that pushes the convertible to 200 miles per hour. Bentley CEO, Dr. Wolfgang Schreiber says there's only one way to describe it. SOUNDBITE: BENTLEY CEO DR. WOLFGANG SCHREIBER (ENGLISH) SAYING: "Dream on wheels. It's a dream on wheels." There is a serious luxury vibe this year at Cobo Hall, as carmakers strive to draw more affluent consumers into showrooms. And it's no surprise. When times were tough in the North American market, luxury carmakers held their footing and were able to reinvest in those brands. At the end of 2012, automakers like BMW, Mercedes-Benz and Porsche all reported strong finishes. At the BMW stand all eyes are on the new 4 series Coupe. Lead designer Adrian van Hooydonk says he designs specifically with the American consumer in mind. SOUNDBITE: BMW DESIGN GROUP CHIEF ADRIAN VAN HOOYDONK (ENGLISH) SAYING: "I saw with my own eyes that people actually use cars differently here. Of course a car is something you absolutely need in and between most American cities. People drive further than in Europe and people see cars as their most important personal accessory." And that, is the allure of the luxury car, according to Guggenheim Capital Markets Director Matthew Stover. SOUNDBITE: MATT STOVER, DIRECTOR AT GUGGENHEIM CAPITAL MARKETS, (ENGLISH) SAYING: "Psychologists say your house is who you are and your car is who you want the world to think you are. And I think that when you buy a luxury car you're making a statement about yourself." REPORTER BRIDGE: REUTERS REPORTER SHARON REICH (ENGLISH) SAYING: "With the recovery underway, U.S. automakers are upping their luxury game too. This new Corvette Stingray has everyone here buzzing. But it's not the only domestic brand hoping to make headway in the market." Lincoln puts a foot forward with its new MKC, its first ever small utility vehicle. Ford CEO Alan Mulally hopes the concept car will rekindle interest in the brand. SOUNDBITE: FORD CEO ALAN MULALLY (ENGLISH) SAYING: "Lincoln is the brand that will re-ignite these opportunities for growth at the Ford motor company and we are proud to have the right products, the right team, right experiences to be successful." Ford won't reveal just how much it has invested in the Lincoln brand, but the green is significant. Just how well luxury consumers respond, remains to be seen.

Dreams on wheels at Detroit auto show

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2013 - 02:41

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)