Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Business

Plug-ins upgraded despite slow sales

Wednesday, January 16, 2013 - 03:13

Jan 16 - Car makers roll out new luxury models of electric cars at the Detroit auto show, emphasizing that in the future the plug-in will come in all shapes and sizes, even though the financials have yet to connect. Sharon Reich reports from Detroit.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Luxury cars with green hearts. At the Detroit auto show carmakers show off the newest generation of electric cars, confirming that battery power is here to stay. Cadillac enters the game with the new ELR. It features an all-electric driving range before a gasoline engine kicks in. With a total of 207 horsepower, the ELR will travel up to 35 miles on electric power only, and a total range of more than 300 miles. This is the third electric car produced by GM and Global Vice President Bob Ferguson says it symbolizes the company's commitment to the plug-in vehicle. SOUNDBITE: BOB FERGUSON, GM VICE PRESIDENT, CADILLAC GLOBAL (ENGLISH) SAYING: "We believe in this technology. I think it's technology for today and tomorrow so we'll continue down this path with lots of enthusiasm." The ELR relies on the same propulsion system as the path breaking Chevy Volt. But where the lower market Volt has been losing money because production costs are too high, Ferguson is confident that the Cadillac will be priced to be profitable. No official numbers have been released, but insiders estimate it will run between $60-70 thousand (USD). REPORTER STAND-UP: SHARON REICH, REUTERS (ENGLISH) SAYING: "While some car makers are clearly putting their bets on battery electric and hybrid cars, soon the conversation may turn to vehicles like this one powered by hydrogen." It's still a ways off from mass marketing, but the Mercedes F Cell is already on the road in some markets. One of the challenges electric cars have is that some consumers are put off by big price tags and the long time it takes to charge batteries. Via Motors is a company that electrifies versions of popular trucks and SUVs. They have teamed up with the makers of PlugShare, a smart phone app that connects electric car owners and allows them to share plug-in station information. UPSOUND (English) VIA MOTORS SALES OFFICER SAYING: "You can see here all the stations around me, people who have uploaded…." GM's Kevin Kelly concedes that they too are hoping to find solutions to help drivers power up. SOUNDBITE: KEVIN KELLY, MANAGER OF ELECTRIFICATION TECHNOLOGY COMMUNICATIONS, GENERAL MOTORS (ENGLISH) SAYING: "We are working with utility partners as we can to help them understand where most of our owners are, where they're charging most of the time, where we're seeing our vehicles ending up in the population. So we're working to let them know that information so that we can get infrastructure put smartly in deployment." Philip Gott is a senior director at IHS Automotive. He says when it comes to the next generation of green vehicles, car makers are at a crossroads. SOUNDBITE: PHILLIP GOTT, SENIOR DIRECTOR, IHS AUTOMOTOIVE SAYING: "Industry is really challenged to meet consumer expectations for value and meet government regulations for low emissions of CO2 and low fuel consumption. What we see for the first time in the industry is that no one combination is going to do it." The bottom line is when it comes to the next generation of green cars, one size does not fit all.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Plug-ins upgraded despite slow sales

Wednesday, January 16, 2013 - 03:13

Top News »

Most Popular »

Retirement »

Investing 201 »

Bond investors brace for the end of Fed stimulus Bond investors brace for the end of Fed...

Fri, Oct 10, 2014 - (4:03)

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Why bruised Brazil is a buy Why bruised Brazil is a buy

Fri, Jul 19, 2013 - (2:48)

3 ways to fix your bond portfolio 3 ways to fix your bond portfolio

Thu, Jul 11, 2013 - (3:10)

The next gold? Diamonds lure investors The next gold? Diamonds lure investors

Wed, Jul 03, 2013 - (2:38)

How to play the Fed’s tapering timeline How to play the Fed’s tapering timeline

Thu, Jun 20, 2013 - (2:34)

How to play banker on the web How to play banker on the web

Tue, Jun 11, 2013 - (2:57)

3 surprises about the 2013 stock rally 3 surprises about the 2013 stock rally

Fri, May 24, 2013 - (2:11)

How to cash in on lawsuits - Investing 201 How to cash in on lawsuits - Investing 201

Tue, Apr 30, 2013 - (2:30)

Rising dollar will drive stocks higher Rising dollar will drive stocks higher

Wed, Apr 10, 2013 - (2:32)

A little-known path to big dividends - Investing 201 A little-known path to big dividends -...

Thu, Apr 04, 2013 - (3:16)

What exactly does Warren Buffett own? - Investing 201 What exactly does Warren Buffett own? -...

Thu, Feb 14, 2013 - (0:51)

Big short bets: Where are they now? - Investing 201 Big short bets: Where are they now? -...

Fri, Dec 21, 2012 - (2:33)

Money Clip »

How to get out of debt How to get out of debt

Thu, Oct 30, 2014 - (3:37)

Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments? Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments?

Thu, Oct 16, 2014 - (2:45)

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

How to break your prenup - Money Clip How to break your prenup - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 07, 2013 - (1:18)

Watch your wallet on Pinterest - Money Clip Watch your wallet on Pinterest - Money Clip

Thu, Feb 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Get set for the big bull run - Money Clip Get set for the big bull run - Money Clip

Thu, Jan 24, 2013 - (3:41)

Moving Pictures »

Images of October Images of October

Mon, Nov 03, 2014 - (0:57)

The world in a city The world in a city

Fri, Oct 31, 2014 - (1:30)

Real-life superheroes Real-life superheroes

Tue, Oct 28, 2014 - (1:44)

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, Oct 20, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Wed, Oct 01, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, Jul 03, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals

Fri, Jun 06, 2014 - (1:08)

VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light

Fri, May 30, 2014 - (1:37)

The week that changed Boston The week that changed Boston

Mon, Apr 14, 2014 - (3:28)

360° snapshot of life in Kabul 360° snapshot of life in Kabul

Fri, Apr 04, 2014 - (1:26)

A blind teenager, living with vision A blind teenager, living with vision

Thu, Mar 27, 2014 - (3:51)

TIMELAPSE: Backstage at the Oscars TIMELAPSE: Backstage at the Oscars

Wed, Mar 05, 2014 - (2:49)

TIMELAPSE: Lunch with Oscar nominees TIMELAPSE: Lunch with Oscar nominees

Wed, Feb 12, 2014 - (2:55)

Sochi Highlights: Let the games begin Sochi Highlights: Let the games begin

Fri, Feb 07, 2014 - (0:40)

TIMELAPSE: On the Golden Globes red carpet TIMELAPSE: On the Golden Globes red carpet

Tue, Jan 14, 2014 - (3:28)

Pictures of the Year 2013 Pictures of the Year 2013

Fri, Dec 20, 2013 - (3:03)

Marching to the beat of Sousa's drum Marching to the beat of Sousa's drum

Thu, Dec 05, 2013 - (6:11)

The Gettysburg Address The Gettysburg Address

Thu, Nov 28, 2013 - (2:31)

Making Gruyere: A family affair Making Gruyere: A family affair

Wed, Oct 16, 2013 - (5:06)

Reuters Investigates »

Where the sea is closing in Where the sea is closing in

Thu, Nov 20, 2014 - (3:41)

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:22)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:02)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:40)

Lessons of the Jihad Jane case - Reuters Investigates Lessons of the Jihad Jane case - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (3:43)

Exclusive: Jihad Jane in her own words Exclusive: Jihad Jane in her own words

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (4:11)

Attorney: How a Maryland teenager became radicalized - Reuters Investigates Attorney: How a Maryland teenager became...

Fri, Dec 07, 2012 - (4:21)

Counselor: Jihad Jane at 17 - Reuters Investigates Counselor: Jihad Jane at 17 - Reuters...

Thu, Dec 06, 2012 - (4:17)

Dateline Asia »

Chinese president's "pivot" to Australia Chinese president's "pivot" to Australia

Fri, Nov 21, 2014 - (1:59)

Landmark stock connect deal "just the beginning": HKEx CEO Landmark stock connect deal "just the...

Mon, Nov 17, 2014 - (6:39)

Could Japan GDP figures portend fresh elections? Could Japan GDP figures portend fresh...

Wed, Nov 12, 2014 - (1:42)

HKEx afloat despite lacking the Shanghai connection HKEx afloat despite lacking the Shanghai...

Fri, Nov 07, 2014 - (2:06)

Stocks soar, yen sinks on Japan stimulus shocker Stocks soar, yen sinks on Japan stimulus...

Fri, Oct 31, 2014 - (1:38)

Breakingviews: Fleeting QE gains bring emerging market pains Breakingviews: Fleeting QE gains bring...

Wed, Oct 29, 2014 - (2:05)