Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Politics

Obama's Second Act

Friday, January 18, 2013 - 01:28

Jan. 18 - As President Barack Obama prepares to begin his second term in office, immigration reform and gun control are expected to top his agenda. Deborah Lutterbeck reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

As U.S. President Barack Obama won a second term he called on the country to come together to meet the challenges ahead. (SOUNDBITE) (English) U.S. PRESIDENT BARACK OBAMA SAYING: "And in the coming weeks and months, I am looking forward to reaching out and working with leaders of both parties to meet the challenges that we can only solve together - There's no shortage of challenges. Obama has already adopted a "get-tough" strategy on gun control after last month's massacre of schoolchildren in Connecticut. He's also calculating that he may finally be able to make good on his promise to achieve comprehensive immigration reform. Thomas Mann of the Brookings Institution says he doesn't have to win to declare victory. (SOUNDBITE) (English) THOMAS MANN, SENIOR FELLOW OF THE BROOKINGS INSTITUTION, SAYING: "He wants to seize the opportunities that are presented right now. It is not clear whether he will succeed with either, but I think he has a fighting chance that he will get something out of both." For many Presidents a second term in office is a time to secure a legacy. Bradley Blakeman who served in George W. Bush's Administration says Obama has an advantage on this front. (SOUNDBITE) (English) BRADLEY BLAKEMAN OF GEORGETOWN UNIVERSITY, WHO SERVED AS SENIOR ADVISER TO PRESIDENT GEORGE W. BUSH, SAYING: "Obama is lucky because the greatest part of his legacy has already been decided -- Obamacare" But as Obama is set to begin his second term -- he appears to want to add more to that legacy.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Obama's Second Act

Friday, January 18, 2013 - 01:28

Top News »

Most Popular »

Investing 201 »

Bond investors brace for the end of Fed stimulus Bond investors brace for the end of Fed...

Fri, Oct 10, 2014 - (4:03)

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

Money Clip »

Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments? Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments?

Thu, Oct 16, 2014 - (2:45)

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, Oct 20, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Wed, Oct 01, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)