Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Finance Videos

Vote leaves Merkel down by not out

Monday, January 21, 2013 - 01:43

Jan.21 - Months before she is hoping to get re-elected in the German federal election, Chancellor Angela Merkel's party lost power in an extremely tight state vote. It's the latest in a string of defeats and a personal blow for Merkel. Joanna Partridge reports

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

A day after a bitter election defeat - German Chancellor Angela Merkel wasn't letting her disappointment show. Her Christian Democrats lost power in the industrial and agricultural region of Lower Saxony. SOUNDBITE: German Chancellor Angela Merkel, saying (German): "I won't beat around the bush - after such a rollercoaster of emotions, of course a defeat hurts even more. And so today we were all quite sad." There was just one seat in it but her party's candidate David McAllister was beaten by the combined force of the Social Democrats and the Greens. It's the latest in a string of party defeats and a personal blow for Merkel. She's hoping to get re-elected herself later in the year and is still favourite to win a third term, says Patrick Armstrong from Armstrong Investment. SOUNDBITE: Patrick Armstrong, Managing Director, Armstrong Investment Management, saying (English): "The election's not until September, so I don't think you can make any strong statements about who's going to be in charge come September, but it does show things are very close." The election result didn't worry German investors. Merkel's defeat does give the opposition centre-left a majority in the upper house of parliament - meaning they could block her government's laws. And she may now have to take a more cautious stance. But Robert Halver from Baader Bank doesn't think it will alter her management of the euro zone debt crisis. SOUNDBITE: Robert Halver, Baader Bank, saying (German): "The Social Democrats and the Greens now have a majority in the upper house of parliament, so they will share the responsibility - and this means that the European peace movement, I mean the stabilisation of the euro zone, will carry on in the lower house." Merkel has consistently won praise for her handling of the crisis. She must hope that's what matters to voters come the federal election in September.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Vote leaves Merkel down by not out

Monday, January 21, 2013 - 01:43

Top News »

Most Popular »

Retirement »

Back to work- in retirement Back to work- in retirement

Wed, Oct 15, 2014 - (2:09)

Investing 201 »

Bond investors brace for the end of Fed stimulus Bond investors brace for the end of Fed...

Fri, Oct 10, 2014 - (4:03)

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

Money Clip »

Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments? Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments?

Thu, Oct 16, 2014 - (2:45)

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, Oct 20, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Wed, Oct 01, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)