Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Barack Obama

Euro Group appoints new chief

Tuesday, January 22, 2013 - 01:52

Jan. 22 - Dutch Finance Minister Jeroen Dijsselbloem has been elected as the new head of the Euro Group replacing Jean-Claude Juncker after 7 years in the job. Hayley Platt reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

The Euro Group has a new chairman. Dutchman, Jeroen Dijsselbloem replaces Jean Claude Juncker who's stepped down after 7 years. The current Netherland's Finance Minister says he wants to move on from a crisis management approach to the euro zone's problems. (SOUNDBITE) (English) NEW PRESIDENT OF THE EUROPGROUP JEROEN DIJSSELBLOEM SAYING: "Further restoring the trust in the euro and euro zone and the economic perspective for the countries, that is the main task at hand. There seems to be a new basis for trust and we have to work to enhance it to strengthen it and to build new growth and jobs." Dijsselbloem - now 46 and a father of two - was a virtual unknown four months ago. He's only been in his national post for three months. And will keep that job as well as his new one. A trained agricultural economist his latest position has surprised some. HSBC's Bronwyn Curtis. SOUNDBITE: Bronwyn Curtis, senior advisor, HSBC Global Banking and Markets, saying (English): "He is part of the north group rather than the south peripheral group in Europe and that could be a problem because we've already seen a situation where Spain and other peripheral countries objecting to the appointment of yet another person from the northern countries into a key position." But as Finance Minister of one of the few remaining triple A rated euro zone countries he's clearly done enough to impress most of his fellow ministers. German Finance Minister, Wolfgang Schaeuble. (SOUNDBITE) (German) GERMAN FINANCE MINISTER, WOLFGANG SCHAEUBLE, SAYING: "I believe that he is a good president for the Eurogroup. I also believe it would be good, and this has also been suggested by my French colleague, to have a debate on the basic work of the Eurogroup." Cemeting confidence may be another aim for the new Chairman. But with elections in Italy and Germany looming - he may have his work cut out.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Euro Group appoints new chief

Tuesday, January 22, 2013 - 01:52

Top News »

Money Clip »

Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments? Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments?

Thu, Oct 16, 2014 - (2:45)

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Moving Pictures »

Images of September Images of September

Wed, Oct 01, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Investing 201 »

Bond investors brace for the end of Fed stimulus Bond investors brace for the end of Fed...

Fri, Oct 10, 2014 - (4:03)

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)