Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Most Popular

Bulls unchained! Apple loses crown

Friday, Jan 25, 2013 - 01:53

Jan 25 - Summary of business headlines: The S&P 500 closed above 1,500 for the first time in more than five years as quarterly results from Procter & Gamble soothe worries; Apple loses spot as world's most valuable company. Conway G. Gittens reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

The S&P 500 is now less than 5 percent from setting lifetime highs as the earnings season gives the bulls a reason to hold the reigns. The Dow is up 11 out of 12 sessions, while the S&P 500 enjoys its longest winning streak in 8 years, even techs were higher. Blue chips gained 1.8 percent on the week and the Nasdaq half of one percent. Jim Awad of Plimsoll Mark is a believer in this bull market. SOUNDBITE: JIM AWAD, CHAIRMAN, PLIMSOLL MARK (ENGLISH) SAYING: "Because the U.S. economy is doing better than expected, profits look like they are going to grow, the consumer is doing fine, unemployment is coming down, there are very low returns on bonds and cash, most people are underinvested and stocks are reasonably valued - many of them with good dividends, so unless Washington mucks it up the line of least resistance - stocks are going to keep going up." Procter and Gamble easily beat quarterly forecasts and guided full-year sales and profit targets higher. The growth came from new products and better pricing. Shares of the world's largest household products maker up 4 percent... Shares of Halliburton, the world's second-largest oilfield services company, jumped 5 percent after global demand lifted earnings... Honeywell's fourth-quarter profit topped forecast and sales were up as well - leading to a small gain in that stock. Apple is in jeopardy of losing its stock market crown. Shares have tumbled almost 40 percent since a record peak last year on worries the best may be over. That weakness - handing old-school ExxonMobil back the title as the world's most valuable company. A small pullback on the homefront, sales of new homes dipped in the U.S. last month but full-year sales reached a three-year high. Finally, European stocks rallied on the back of firmer business sentiment numbers out of Germany.

Bulls unchained! Apple loses crown

Friday, Jan 25, 2013 - 01:53

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)