Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Entertainment

"Hansel & Gretel" captures weekend box office

Sunday, January 27, 2013 - 01:55

Jan. 27 - The latest celebrity news including ''Hansel & Gretel's'' profitable weekend at the box office and more rewards for Ben Affleck and ''Argo.'' John Russell reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

A grown-up "Hansel & Gretel" grabbed the weekend box office title, pulling in 19 million dollars (USD) in U.S. and Canadian ticket sales with its reinvention of the classic fairy tale characters as fierce bounty hunters. "Hansel & Gretel: Witch Hunters" knocked last weekend's winner, low-budget horror flick "Mama," into second place. "Mama" earned just under 13 million from Friday through Sunday, according to studio estimates. "Mama" features Jessica Chastain as a woman forced to take care of two orphaned nieces who have been living in the woods. The 15 million production has now earned nearly 49 million at U.S. and Canadian theaters through two weekends. Chastain also stars in "Zero Dark Thirty" in an Oscar-nominated role as a dogged CIA agent searching for al Qaeda leader Osama bin Laden, which landed in fourth place this week. "Silver Linings Playbook," another Oscar contender, logged 10 million in sales for third place. It stars Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence. On Saturday (January 26) the Producers Guild named "Argo" its pick for best film, adding to its honors after taking the Golden Globe for Best Dramatic film. Ben Affleck, who directed and starred in "Argo," George Clooney, and Grant Heslov were the three producers named for the honor. Ben Affleck was also honored by the Santa Barbara International Film Festival's Modern Master Award, for his contribution to film in 2012 with his direction of "Argo." Affleck's "Good Will Hunting" co-writer and good friend, Matt Damon presented him with the award. Colombian singer Shakira and her first son Milan have been discharged from hospital on Sunday (January 27). The 35-year-old singer and her boy friend Spanish footballer Gerard Pique left the Tecknon hospital with their baby in a car with blacked-out windows, sweeping past photographers and cameramen who were eagerly waiting in the parking lot.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

"Hansel & Gretel" captures weekend box office

Sunday, January 27, 2013 - 01:55

Top News »

Retirement »

Back to work- in retirement Back to work- in retirement

Wed, Oct 15, 2014 - (2:09)

Investing 201 »

Bond investors brace for the end of Fed stimulus Bond investors brace for the end of Fed...

Fri, Oct 10, 2014 - (4:03)

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

Money Clip »

Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments? Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments?

Thu, Oct 16, 2014 - (2:45)

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, Oct 20, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Wed, Oct 01, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)