Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Egyptians, police clash near Tahrir Square

Wednesday, January 30, 2013 - 00:42

Jan. 30 - Clashes between protesters and police continued for a seventh day near Tahrir square in Cairo in the worst stretch of violence since President Mohamed Mursi took office last June. Rough Cut (no reporter narration).

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

ROUGH CUT - NO REPORTER NARRATION Clashes between protesters and police continued for a seventh day near Tahrir square in Cairo on Wednesday (January 30). Two protesters were shot dead in the Egyptian capital earlier on Wednesday, raising the death toll to at least 54 in clashes in cities around Egypt, the deadliest violence since President Mohamed Mursi took office last June. The men, named as Ahmed Saad Eldin and Reda El-Refai, were hit by gunshots before dawn on the edge of Tahrir Square, a security source said, adding it was not clear who fired the shots. Police have fired volleys of teargas at stone throwing protesters in running battles on the streets near the square that was the focal point of the revolution that toppled Hosni Mubarak two years ago. The latest surge of violence began on the eve of the second anniversary of the anti-Mubarak uprising, after large demonstrations were held to commemorate the occasion. Tensions spiked the next day, on January 26th, when a court condemned several residents of the city of Port Said to death for their part in the killing of 74 football fans one year ago. The city erupted into fighting between police and residents, with dozens killed in the following days. Opposition politician Mohamed ElBaradei said today that Egypt needed an urgent meeting between the president, other ruling officials, Islamist groups and the opposition to agree steps to end a wave of violence. One woman in Tahrir said that President Mursi was at fault for failing to govern Egypt properly. "We never wanted Mursi. We never knew him at all. He won presidency by force. We don't want him, we don't want him, we don't want him," said Sayeda. Mursi cancelled a planned visit to Paris this week as the political crisis flared in Egypt. The president was due to arrive in Paris on Thursday (January 31) afternoon following a visit to Berlin on Wednesday and later meet French President Francios Hollande over breakfast on Friday (February 1). Mursi's spokesman Yasser Ali said in Cairo that the president would reschedule a visit at another time. Cairo resident Reda Waleed said that Mursi has a difficult task ahead of him due to the legacy of long-time ruler Hosni Mubarak. "He inherited a corrupted regime. It takes a lot of time to fix a corrupted house, so it must take so much more to fix a corrupted country," he said. Mursi declared a month-long state of emergency on Monday (January 28) in three cities on the Suez Canal in response to the violent anti-government protests.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Egyptians, police clash near Tahrir Square

Wednesday, January 30, 2013 - 00:42

Most Popular »

Retirement »

Back to work- in retirement Back to work- in retirement

Wed, Oct 15, 2014 - (2:09)

Investing 201 »

Bond investors brace for the end of Fed stimulus Bond investors brace for the end of Fed...

Fri, Oct 10, 2014 - (4:03)

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

Money Clip »

Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments? Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments?

Thu, Oct 16, 2014 - (2:45)

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, Oct 20, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Wed, Oct 01, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)